Seong-Jin Cho The Handel Project: Handel: 3 Suites & Brahms: Handel Variations 180g 2LP

Seong-Jin Cho

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Sensational Pianist Shares His Love for Handel on 180g Double LP!
Each Work Is Brilliantly Full of Character & Life!

The sensational South Korean pianist Seong-Jin Cho shares his love for an often neglected corner of the keyboard repertoire: Handel's keyboard suites. Each suite is brilliantly characterful and brimming with life, and Cho has selected his three absolute favorites to play in full. Another lover of Handel's keyboard suites was Johannes Brahms - so Cho pairs the suites with the later composer's spectacular Handel Variations op. 24.

His are powerful readings of the suites, with great variety in articulation and tempo. At times, one thinks of Glenn Gould; Cho is much more sparing in his use of the pedal, but he is that commanding and charismatic. This is a strong program, brilliantly executed, and it marks the arrival of Cho in the pianistic top rank.
-James Manheim,, 5/5 stars (The AllMusic 2023 Year in Review - Favorite Classical Instrumental Albums)


  • 180g Vinyl
  • Double LP
  • Gatefold Jacket
  • Made in Germany


Seong-Jin Cho piano


LP 1 - Side A:

George Frideric Handel (1685–1759)
Suite No. 2 in F major HWV 427
  1. Adagio
  2. Allegro
  3. Adagio
  4. Allegro [Fugue]
Suite No. 8 in F minor HWV 433
  1. Prélude
  2. Allegro [Fugue]
  3. Allemande
  4. Courante
  5. Gigue

LP 1 - Side B:

George Frideric Handel
Suite No. 5 in E major HWV 430
  1. Prélude
  2. Allemande
  3. Courante
  4. Air – Double I–V [Air with 5 Variations "The Harmonious Blacksmith"]
  5. Sarabande in B flat major HWV 440/3
  6. Minuet in G minor arr. Wilhelm Kempff

LP 2 - Side A:

Johannes Brahms (1833–1897)
Handel Variations in B flat major op. 24
  1. Aria
  2. Variation I
  3. Variation II. Animato
  4. Variation III. Dolce
  5. Variation IV. Risoluto
  6. Variation V. Espressivo
  7. Variation VI. Sempre legato
  8. Variation VII. Con vivacità
  9. Variation VIII
  10. Variation IX. Poco sostenuto
  11. Variation X. Energico
  12. Variation XI. Dolce
  13. Variation XII. Soave
  14. Variation XIII. Largamente, ma non più
  15. Variation XIV. Sciolto
  16. Variation XV
  17. Variation XVI. Piano ma marcato
  18. Variation XVII. Più mosso
  19. Variation XVIII. Grazioso

LP 2 - Side B:

Johannes Brahms
Handel Variatsion in B flat major op. 24
  1. Variation XIX. Leggiero e vivace
  2. Variation XX. Legato
  3. Variation XXI. Dolce
  4. Variation XXII
  5. Variation XXIII. Vivace e staccato
  6. Variation XXIV
  7. Variation XXV
  8. Fuga

Customers Also Like