Shannon McNally The Waylon Sessions LP

Shannon McNally

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

A Feminine Reinterpretation Of Waylon Jennings On Vinyl LP!
Features Buddy Miller, Jessi Colter, Lukas Nelson & Rodney Crowell!

Recorded with an all-star band and featuring special guests like Jessi Colter, Buddy Miller, Rodney Crowell, and Lukas Nelson, Shannon McNally's extraordinary new collection, The Waylon Sessions, isn't so much a tribute to Waylon Jennings as it is a recontextualization: a nuanced, feminine rendering of a catalog long considered a bastion of hetero-masculinity. That's not to say McNally has a softer, gentler take on the songs of Jennings and his outlaw compatriots here; in fact, just the opposite. Over and over again, she manages to locate a smoldering intensity - a searing hurt buried deep within the music's deceptively simple poetry - and she hones in on it with a surgical precision. McNally doesn't swap pronouns or couch her delivery with a wink; she simply plays it straight, singing her truth as a divorced single mother in her 40s in all its beauty, pain, and power. The result is that rare covers record that furthers our understanding of the originals, an album of classics that challenges our perceptions and assumptions about just what made them classics in the first place.

"When I listen to Waylon, I hear an adult," says McNally. "He sounds like a grownup, and for a long time, I think being a grownup has been confused with being a man. There's a feminine perspective hidden somewhere inside each of these songs, though. My job was to find a way to tap into that and draw it out."

Shannon McNally, has been mining the rich veins of American roots music for more than two decades now. Born and raised on Long Island, she has called New Orleans, Nashville, and Holly Springs, Mississippi, home, but it was in Los Angeles that she first came to national attention in the early 2000s with her Capitol Records debut, Jukebox Sparrows. Recorded with a Murderer's Row of studio legends, the collection garnered high profile spotlights from NPR to Rolling Stone, earned McNally slots on Letterman, Leno, and Conan, and led to dates with Stevie Nicks, Robert Randolph, and John Mellencamp among others. She followed it up in 2005 with Geronimo, a critically acclaimed sophomore effort that prompted the New York Times to call her "irresistible" and the Washington Post to hail her as "a fine lyricist who often calls to mind Lucinda Williams." A restless creative spirit with a magnetic personality, McNally has released a wide range of similarly lauded albums, EPs, and collaborations over the past 15 years, including the 2017 Compass Records release Black Irish.


  • Vinyl LP
  • Foldout poster
  • Limited time download with bonus tracks


Side A:

  1. I've Always Been Crazy
  2. You Asked Me To - Featuring Buddy Miller
  3. Out Among The Stars - Featuring Jessi Colter
  4. You Show Me Yours And I'll Show You Mine - Featuring Lukas Nelson
  5. Black Rose - Featuring Buddy Miller

Side B:

  1. This Time
  2. I Ain't Living Long Like This - Featuring Rodney Crowell
  3. I'm A Ramblin' Man
  4. Mamas Don't Let Your Babies Grow Up To Be Cowboys
  5. Help Me Make It Through The Night
  6. We Had It All

Customers Also Like