Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Polyborus
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Shearwater The Great Awakening 2LP


Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Coming June 10, 2022 pre-order your copy today! Orders with both pre-order and in stock items will have all in stock items shipped immediately!

First Album in 6 Years on Double LP!

In December 2016, during Shearwater's last live show, bandleader Jonathan Meiburg picked up a slip of paper from the stage: a prayer request card, left behind by a church that had rented the Bowery Ballroom the night before.

"At the time," Meiburg recalls, "it seemed like a grim joke." The thundering songs of 2016's Jet Plane and Oxbow, were filled with fears for what the United States was becoming, and the recent election had confirmed them. Meiburg held the card up to the audience, asked the heavens for the swift (and natural) death of Trump and his enablers, and tore into "Hail, Mary," the howling climax of 2006's Palo Santo.

After that, it was time to take a breath. Shearwater had recorded six LPs in ten years for Matador and Sub Pop, and toured the US and Europe many times; as the band drove home, Meiburg resolved to find a new approach. "I felt hopeless," he admits. "And I didn't want to make hopeless music."

For the next five years, he stretched out in all directions. First on his mind was a book - a nonfiction epic called A Most Remarkable Creature (published by Knopf in 2021), which took him to remote corners of South America in search of the strange birds of prey called caracaras and their origins in deep time. Musically, he went just as wide, staging a reconstruction of David Bowie's Berlin Trilogy for WNYC's New Sounds, issuing a set of instrumental albums on Bandcamp, and forming a new band - Loma - with Texan producer/engineer Dan Duszynski and singer Emily Cross. Loma made two dark and dreamlike albums for Sub Pop, and their self-titled debut found an admirer in Brian Eno, who collaborated with the band on the final track of their second LP, Don't Shy Away.

And in 2020, Meiburg finally returned to Shearwater, setting up shop in a weathered RV near Duszynski's studio to write an album that would reflect where he'd been. Above a makeshift desk, he placed a quote from TS Eliot: "Be still, and wait without hope / for hope would be hope for the wrong thing." Wasn't that also a kind of prayer? Meiburg smiles. "More like an approach I could believe in."

With Duszynski as a fellow performer and co-producer, The Great Awakening evolved through the long months of 2020 and 2021, emerging as a meditation on hope amid hopelessness, and the freedoms to be found (or dreamed about) in isolation. Several Shearwater veterans returned, including keyboardist and arranger Emily Lee and drummer Josh Halpern, but the rock gestures of Jet Plane fell away: The Great Awakening is a soulful and immersive travelog of grand atmospheres and intimate landscapes, decorated with field recordings from Meiburg's travels and anchored by his closely recorded voice, more otherworldly and urgent than ever.

On loping lead single "Xenarthran," he opens with a wry question - "What did you expect?" - then muddies the waters; the song's hymn-like chorus circles back on itself, as if caught in an eddy, and resolves in a wash of strings and a choir of howler monkeys - evoking a world of deep shadows and tantalizing glimmers of light. The same is true of the gorgeous, enigmatic "Aqaba," as close to a love song as Shearwater has ever made, and the superficially triumphant "Empty Orchestra" turns out, on closer inspection, to be a reckoning with nihilism's seductive appeal.

It's an album that couldn't have been made by any other band. It's hard not to hear The Great Awakening as the record Shearwater's been striving toward for years: it's a journey into the unknown, embracing sorrow and joy, beauty and terror. "In the threshing of love's distortions and shimmerings," Meiburg sings, "the stubbornest husk falls away. And the dust rises up."


  • Double Vinyl LP



  1. Highgate
  2. No Reason
  3. Xenarthran
  4. Laguna Seca
  5. Everyone You Touch
  6. Empty Orchestra


  1. Milkweed
  2. Detritivore
  3. Aqaba
  4. There Goes the Sun
  5. Wind Is Love

Customers Also Like