Shostakovich & Prokofiev Symphony No. 9 & Lieutenant Kije Suite 24/96 DVD & 24/192 DVD-A & CD

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
CHDD 2018
High Quality 24/96 DVD & 24/192 DVD-A Hybrid Digital Audio Disc (HDAD) - Audio-ONLY DVD!

Sargent seems to have a real feel for these Russian Orchestral favorites. Both performances are in the Sargent tradition of a little slower in pace than some of his contemporaries, however, as we all know faster is not always better. In this case the deliberate pace is very revealing of the glorious intricacy of these classical gems. Refreshing interpretations by a top notch conductor with a world class orchestra in the heart of the golden age of recording- what more can an audiophile ask for? These EVEREST 35mm recordings by Bert Whyte at London's famed Walthamstow Assembly Hall are truly Majestic in their size and sense of orchestral realism mostly due to the high and low frequency detail and dynamics that are recordable only on 35mm film. In the words, of Len Horowitz from History of Recorded Sound "35mm has its own wisdom". It is hard to describe other than to say that there is something about the live event that 35mm can capture and recreate that you can't get from conventional tape formats - there is a certain retained magic with 35mm as this disc, like the rest will attest.

The HDAD PLUS which is a two disc set consisting of a two sided DVD-10 disc containing DVD Audio and DVD Video formats PLUS a bonus CD from a separate 16 bit / 44.1 kHz two channel capture done simultaneously for the CD format to avoid non-integer down sampling and hence provide for maximum quality for the CD all transferred directly from the 35mm magnetic film using a vintage Westrex 1551 tape machine, with specially built playback electronics that are vastly superior to any others used on these machines to playback the original 35mm tapes. The Len Horowitz / History of Recorded Sound specially modified 1551, fitted with brand new playback heads matched to the revolutionary playback electronics was stationed at Bernie Grundman Mastering in Hollywood. With Len Horowitz running the playback machine and Bernie Grundman mastering from the three track 35mm tapes, Classic Records has been able to capture the legendary sound and performances directly from the 35mm magnetic film through an "ALL TUBE" tape playback system and at 24 bit resolution and 192 kHz sampling rate for use in both the two and three channel presentations included on both the DVD Audio and DVD Video sides of the two sided DVD-10. The level of detail and dynamics on these discs are not for mediocre systems - be prepared to give your hi-fi a real workout!

What is a 24/96 DVD & 24/192 DVD-A? It is a High Quality 24/96 DVD & 24/192 DVD-A Hybrid Digital Audio Disc (HDAD) (Audio-ONLY DVD!) which features both 24-bit/96kHz and 24-bit/192kHz digital sampling rates. This disc is a two sided DVD based disc. One side of the disc is DVD video formatted and contains 24/96 PCM data playable on all DVD video players. The other side contains 24/192 PCM data and is playable on DVD audio players.

London Symphony Orchestra
Sir Malcolm Sargent, conductor

Dmitri Shostakovich (1906-1975)
Symphony no. 9, Op. 70

1. Allegro
2. Moderato
3. Presto
4. Largo
5. Allegretto

Sergei Prokofiev (1891-1953)
Lt. Kije Suite, Op. 60

6. The Birth of Kije
7. Romance
8. Kije's Wedding
9. Troika
10. The Burial of Kije

Customers Also Like