Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Sundazed
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Sly & The Family Stone Stand! LP

Sly & the Family Stone

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Rolling Stone 500 Greatest Albums of All Time - Rated 119/500!

Nothing said it better than the title of Sly & The Family Stone's 1967 debut album. They were, indeed, A Whole New Thing! Over his first six groundbreaking Epic LPs, Sly Stone - a maverick studio genius who heard things nobody else did - turned the worlds of Soul, R&B, funk and psychedelia completely upside-down with his breathtakingly innovative band, the Family Stone. Pop music was shaken to its very core by this racially-mixed aggregation of men and women whose lyrics, deftly laced with political and social commentary, were woven through groovy rhythms and infectious melodies that made standing still virtually impossible. Even their clothes were mind-bendingly cool!

By the time the Family Stone’s fourth album was released in 1969, the dam had burst: They were full-fledged rock stars! No fewer than four tracks from Stand! were certified national smashes, led by the euphoria-producing “I Want to Take You Higher” and Sly’s heroic, rainbow-coalition-evoking plea for racial tolerance, the unforgettable “Everyday People.” At the time, “People” seemed like the apocalyptic blast from Gabriel’s trumpet, waking the world to the beginning of a Brand New Day.

"A greatest-hits album in all but name, Stand! is party politics at its most inclusive and exciting — singer-leader Sly Stone at the top of his ecumenical-funk game. A DJ and producer in San Francisco during the Dawn of Hippie, Stone fortifies that utopian energy with the bonfire momentum of the civil-rights movement in motivational-soul sermons such as "Stand!" and "You Can Make It if You Try" without denying the divisions that threatened civil war ("Don't Call Me Nigger, Whitey"). And let's give due respect to the biracial, bi-gender Family Stone, whose rainbow thump here was a big influence on P-Funk and the electric Miles Davis." -

"The title song from Stone's classic black-rock LP became a civil rights anthem. But when a test pressing got a muted reaction on San Francisco radio, Stone added the funky coda, played by what his A&R man Stephen Paley called 'old-men horn players,' since the Family was unavailable. 'He wrote out parts for the horn players and even passed out W-4 forms,' said Paley. 'He was that together.'" - Rolling Stone

• High-Definition Vinyl LP

1. Stand!
2. Don’t Call Me Nigger, Whitey
3. I Want to Take You Higher
4. Somebody’s Watching You
5. Sing a Simple Song
6. Everyday People
7. Sex Machine
8. You Can Make It If You Try

Customers Also Like