Genre: Alternative
Label: Matador
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Sonic Youth The Eternal 2LP

Sonic Youth

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
High Quality 120g Vinyl Double LP!

After years on Geffen Records, Sonic Youth return to an indie label with their sixteenth studio album. "The Eternal" is a supercharged rocker, recalling aspects of the Evol-Sister-Daydream Nation holy trinity, but with cleaner, louder production and more straightforward momentum. With Pavement's Mark Ibold joining on bass, and producer John Agnello back at the controls, "The Eternal" takes the melodic songwriting of 2006's "Rather Ripped" and slams down the accelerator pedal.

Twelve tunes that are a fireworks display of Sonic Youth touchstones. From the primal nowave attack of its earliest days, to the radical chording and song structures of its 90s period, to the more focused and contemporary explorations of the last five years.

The writing took place in the Ecstatic Peace Folk + Cinema Basement in Northampton, MA and in the bands own Echo Canyon West in Hoboken, NJ. All recordings were done at Echo Canyon West with John Agnello at the board and Aaron Mullan in full assist. Agnello and band mixed the monster at Water Music in Hoboken. Greg Calbi mastered it beautifully at Sterling Sound in NYC.

The cover art for The Eternal is a painting by the late, great American folk artist John Fahey.

High Quality 120g Vinyl analog in heavy duty Stoughton gatefold sleeve, printed inner sleeves, and limited time MP3 coupon.

"The Eternal...opens with a pair of short one-two flashes: "Sacred Trickster," the kind of driving, often menacing guitar-pop thrash that has been a part of their sound since the beginning, sung in a convincing cry by bassist/guitarist Kim Gordon-and "Anti-Orgasm", whose first line, 'Mission control to brain police," and chorus of copulatory grunts, is an instant SY classic..." - Robert Baird, Stereophile Magazine, July 2009, pg 65

"The LP edition will be suitably grand, in the mold of most of the products leading the recent resurgence of vinyl: a gatefold cover of heavy paper stock, (120g double LP), and lots of extra photos inside. The album's striking cover image, by the late American guitar virtuoso John Fahey, is a typical example of the sagacity that has always put SY leagues above most of their peers and given them a 30-year career." - Robert Baird, Stereophile Magazine, July 2009, pg 66

• Double LP
• High Quality 120g Vinyl
• Heavy duty Stoughton gatefold sleeve
• Printed inner sleeves
• Includes limited time MP3 coupon

LP 1

1. Sacred Trickster
2. Anti-Orgasm
3. Leaky Lifeboat (for Gregory Corso)
4. Antenna
5. What We Know
6. Calming The Snake
LP 2
1. Poison Arrow
2. Malibu Gas Station
3. Thunderclap For Bobby Pyn
4. No Way
5. Walkin' Blue
6. Massage The History

Customers Also Like