Genre: Pop Rock
Size: 12"
Additional Artists: Ronnie Spector
Format: 33RPM,


Southside Johnny and the Asbury Jukes Live in Cleveland '77 2LP

Southside Johnny and the Asbury Jukes

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Potent 1977 Live Show on Double LP.
First Time on Vinyl!

Before Southside Johnny and the Asbury Jukes even had an album on the shelves, they were being played on the radio in Cleveland. That's how far back the New Jersey band's relationship goes with the city.

As the "Jukes" part of their name would suggest, Southside Johnny and his group were spiritually a band from another time. They had a big sound (and a full horn section, courtesy of The Miami Horns) that conjured a vision of a large band, jammed together on the bandstand. Which was hardly far from the truth on a number of nights. Mixing carefully chosen blues and soul covers with their own originals (and some choice songwriting contributions from Bruce Springsteen), they had a live show that was even more potent than what had been laid to tape in the studio.

This 1977 performance at the Cleveland Agora was the group's second outing at the legendary venue in less than a year. Live in Cleveland '77, the recorded evidence of that night, presented here for the first time by Cleveland International Records, shows exactly why they would become frequent visitors and, really, honorary Clevelanders. Songs like "I Don't Want to Go Home," Springsteen's "The Fever," "Havin' a Party" and "Without Love" were already well-loved favorites with the local audience, thanks to frequent airplay on WMMS long before they even had an album.

Cleveland got a special bonus round that other cities would have killed for. Ronnie Spector had joined the group in the studio as they recorded that debut and came to Cleveland to share the stage with the Jukes, sharing her soon-to-be-legendary take on Billy Joel's "Say Goodbye to Hollywood" with the Agora crowd. As she did with so many songs, Spector made it her own.

Southside Johnny and the Jukes continue to thrill audiences with their live performances worldwide to this day. Now, thanks to the release of Live in Cleveland '77, you can be in the audience to hear a bit of the early magic as they were on their way to the top.

Recorded at the Agora Ballroom & Theater in Cleveland, Ohio, May 2, 1977


  • Double LP
  • First Time on Vinyl
  • Made in the USA


Side A:

  1. This Time It's For Real
  2. Got to Get You Off Of My Mind
  3. Without Love

Side B:

  1. Love On the Wrong Side Of Town
  2. Little By Little
  3. It Ain't the Meat, It's the Motion
  4. When You Dance

Side C:

  1. Say Goodbye To Hollywood feat. Ronnie Spector
  2. The Fever
  3. I Don't Want To Go Home

Side D:

  1. Broke Down Piece Of Man
  2. We're Having A Party
  3. You Don't Know Like I Know

Customers Also Like