Genre: Pop Rock
Label: BMG
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Sparks Exotic Creatures of the Deep 180g 2LP


$19.99 $31.99
(You save $12.00 )
Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

21st Studio Album Remastered on 180g Double LP!
Featuring "Lighten Up, Morrissey" & "I Can't Believe That You Would Fall for All the Crap in This Song"!

Exotic Creatures of the Deep is the 21st studio album by "your favorite band's favorite band," the legendary and influential Sparks (brothers Ron and Russell Mael). Originally released on May 19, 2008, the album has been newly remastered for this LP reissue and released on heavyweight vinyl.

At the time of its release, Exotic Creatures of the Deep was promoted in the UK by a number of live performances dubbed the "Sparks Spectacular": a record-setting 20-date residency from May 16 through June 11, 2008 at London's Carling Islington Academy, where the group played each one of their previous 20 albums in its entirety in chronological order. Each night, they performed an album in its entirety followed by a rare track - many of the songs had never been performed live before. The final appearance at London's Shepherd's Bush Empire on June 13 premiered Exotic Creatures of the Deep.

Exotic Creatures, if not as completely explosive as Hello Young Lovers at its heights, finds the rude creative health of the Maels still firing on all cylinders... Perhaps the most emblematic song of the whole album is a swaggering electro-glam stomp, at once reminiscent of their early English heyday and perfectly in sync with the post-schaffel pop universe, with a killer vocal performance by Russell topped by his intoning of the song title in the chorus - 'I Can't Believe That You Would Fall for All the Crap in This Song.'
-Ned Raggett, AllMusic
There's still hope for the world
Exotic is pure art pop with classical leanings, lent a cheeky energy via Russell Mael's diva-esque vocal turns and the brothers' winking lyrics (the album opens with the lines, 'Good morning. Who are you?').
-Robert Ham, Paste Magazine


  • 180g Vinyl
  • Double LP
  • Newly Remastered
  • Gatefold Jacket
  • Made in Poland


Side A:

  1. Intro
  2. Good Morning
  3. Strange Animal

Side B:

  1. I Can't Believe That You Would Fall for All the Crap in This Song
  2. Let the Monkey Drive
  3. Intro Reprise
  4. I've Never Been High

Side C:

  1. (She Got Me) Pregnant
  2. Lighten Up, Morrissey
  3. This Is the Renaissance

Side D:

  1. The Director Never Yelled 'Cut'
  2. Photoshop
  3. Likeable

Customers Also Like