Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Merge
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Spoon Gimme Fiction 180g 2LP Deluxe Edition


Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
10 Year Anniversary Deluxe Edition Reissue!
180g Vinyl Double LP! Pressed at RTI!

To celebrate the 10th anniversary of the Spoon classic, Merge releases a deluxe limited-edition version of Gimme Fiction on 180g Vinyl Double LP. The reissue contains the album remastered by Howie Weinberg from the original tapes, a second disc with 12 previously unreleased demos from the era, nine additional bonus tracks via digital download, and a full-color book containing photos and an extensive oral history of the making of the album. The deluxe LP package also includes a 24” x 36” poster.

Gimme Fiction dragged the sonic pointillism of Kill the Moonlight further into dub-influenced weirdness as the increasingly confident Spoon went crazy in the studio, experimenting with everything from warped hip-hop samples to horse whinnies. How all this directionless Dylan worship and psychedelic goofing resulted in an album as sharply realized as Gimme Fiction is a testament solely to Spoon’s self-assurance and tastefulness (and some hard work, and a bit of luck, etc.). Whatever digging or strange alchemy had to go into it, they only produced more gold. Gimme Fiction deserves special recognition because it’s the album where Spoon—backed into a corner—took some crazy leaps, all of them forward. It’s a “departure point” for a band that, lucky for us, has never made a real departure. And when it came time for a reissue, we knew it deserved a lasting place on vinyl, right alongside every other indispensable record in Spoon’s discography.

• Deluxe Edition
• Pressed at RTI
• 180g Vinyl
• Double LP
• Original album remastered by Howie Weinberg from the original tapes
• Disc 2 - 12 Previously unreleased demos
• Limited time Digital download for 9 additional bonus tracks
• Full-color book of photos and history of the making of the album
• 24" x 36" poster

LP 1
Side A:
1. The Beast and Dragon, Adored
2. The Two Sides of Monsieur Valentine
3. I Turn My Camera On
4. My Mathematical Mind
5. The Delicate Place
6. Sister Jack
Side B:
1. I Summon You
2. The Infinite Pet
3. Was It You?
4. They Never Got You
5. Merchants Of Soul

LP 2 - 12 Previously unreleased demos
Side A:
1. I Summon You (first demo)
2. Was It You?
3. I've Been Good Too Long
4. Sister Jack (piano demo)
5. The Beast and Dragon, Adored
6. My Mathematical Mind
Side B:
7. They Never Got You
8. The Two Sides of Monsieur Valentine
9. The Delicate Place
10. The Infinite Pet
11. Merchants of Soul
12. Dear Mr. Landlord

Customers Also Like