Stacey Kent The Boy Next Door (Candid) 180g 2LP

Stacey Kent

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

180g Vinyl Double LP!
Remastered by Bernie Grundman!

Stacey Kent is a classic jazz singer with a legion of fans, international honors and awards, sales in the millions, and chart-topping albums spanning a 25 year career.

The Boy Next Door became Kent's breakthrough and her biggest hit to date when it was released in 2003, establishing her as a household name in France and the UK.

The recording pays tribute to Kent's heroes, most who made their mark with the Great American Songbook and popular standards. Each track is name checked - Tony Bennet, Frank Sinatra, Chet Baker and Sammy Davis Jr., to name a few. But the album also includes contemporary artists like Paul Simon and James Taylor, and thanks to the tight arrangements effortlessly executed by Kent's skilled section, they blend seamlessly with the older numbers.

The idea for the album came about when an interviewer expressed surprise at the number of men on Kent's list of favorite singers and interpreters of song. Kent's unique voice and her masterful interpretations of these classic songs became the impetus for this project.

Produced by Kent's long time companion and collaborator Jim Tomlinson and recorded at Curtis Schwartz Studios, England, this record has been remastered by legendary mastering engineer Bernie Grundman.


  • 180g Vinyl
  • Double LP
  • Remastered by Bernie Grundman
  • Tip-On Gatefold Jacket
  • Made in USA


Stacey Kent vocals
Jim Tomlinson saxophones, backing vocals
Colin Oxley guitar
David Newton piano, keyboards, backing vocals
Dave Chamberlain bass
Matt Home drums
Curtis Schwartz backing vocals


Side One:

  1. The Best Is Yet To Come
  2. The Boy Next Door
  3. The Trolley Song
  4. Say It Isn't So

Side Two:

  1. Too Darn Hot
  2. Makin' Whoopee
  3. What The World Needs Now Is Love
  4. You've Got a Friend

Side Three:

  1. I Got It Bad
  2. Ooh-Shoo-Be-Doo-Bee
  3. People Will Say We're In Love
  4. 'Tis Autumn

Side Four:

  1. All I Do Is Dream of You
  2. I Get Along Without You Very Well
  3. You're the Top
  4. Bookends

Customers Also Like