Genre: Jazz
Label: Cool Green
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Stanton Moore With You In Mind 180g LP

Stanton Moore

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Out Of Print! Only 1 copy left!

New Studio Album by Galactic Drummer Stanton Moore on 180g Vinyl LP!
A New Orleans Tribute To The Songs Of Allen Toussaint!
Featuring Cyril Neville, Maceo Parker, Skerik, Nicholas Payton, Trombone Shorty & More!

"In the beginning was the beat. And the beat was strong . . ." – Allen Toussaint

Stanton Moore’s busy all the time. Besides his solo projects, he’s the drummer of Galactic and he still finds time to record and travel as a trio with David "Tork" Torkanowsky (keys) and James Singleton (bass). The trio had a new record ready, they thought. But then, "a couple of days before we were supposed to start recording," says Moore, "Allen Toussaint passed."

Toussaint’s sudden death on November 10, 2015 shocked the city. The polymath New Orleans producer, songwriter and all-around figure of elegance had been a vital, active presence in New Orleans since the 1950's. So when Toussaint was suddenly gone, the three musicians immediately shelved their planned album and went into creative hyperdrive, beginning to work up pieces of Toussaint's vast repertoire. It was a bittersweet project for all concerned, celebrating the memory of someone whose living presence was so important. "I didn’t get to work with Allen as often as I'd have liked to," Moore says, "but I did get to." Their friendship went back twenty years.

This record features a who's who of the funk and New Orleans music scenes, including Cyril Neville, Trombone Shorty, Nicholas Payton, Skerik, Donald Harrison Jr. , Jolynda Kiki Chapman, Maceo Parker and Wendell Pierce.

"Allen Toussaint wrote the soundtrack to New Orleans," says Moore. "He came out of an environment that no longer exists. The level of talent and ability and artistry that he embodied - we won't see this again."

Toussaint's compositions stand as a brilliant display of why the city's music is eternal and why New Orleans is still so artistically urgent. But the soundtrack keeps being written. The musicians on With You in Mind: The Songs of Allen Toussaint are present-generation masters of the unique musical style of the world-historic city of New Orleans. These singers and players felt the mission of the album, and delivered inspired, focused performances. Producers Torkanowsky and Moore sculpted it all into a great album that grows with every subsequent listen.

• 180g Vinyl
• Limited time MP3 download

Stanton Moore, drums
David Torkanowsky, keys
James Singleton, bass
Cyril Neville, vocals (A1, A2, A5, B1, B3), tambourine (A1, A5, B1)
Trombone Shorty, trombone solo (A1), trombone (A3)
Eric Bloom, trumpet (A1, A2, A5, B3)
Mark Mullins, trombone (A1, A2, A5, B3)
Aaron Fletcher, alto sax (A1, A2, A5, B3)
Skerik, baritone sax (A1, A2, A5, B1, B3)
Mike Dillon, percussion (A1, A2, A5, B3)
Erica Falls, background vocals (A1, A2, A5, B3)
Jolynda Kiki Chapman, vocals (A4), background vocals (A1, A2, A5, B3)
Nicholas Payton, trumpet (A2, A3, B2, B5), Hammond B3 organ (B5)
Donald Harrison Jr., alto sax (A3, B2)
Maceo Parker, alto sax solo (A5, B3)
Wendell Pierce, spoken word (B5)

Side A:

1. Here Come The Girls (feat. Cyril Neville & Trombone Shorty)
2. Life (feat. Cyril Neville, Nicholas Payton & Skerik)
3. Java (feat. Nicholas Payton, Donald Harrison Jr. & Trombone Shorty)
4. All These Things (feat. Jolynda Kiki Chapman)
5. Night People (feat. Maceo Parker)
Side B:
1. The Beat (feat. Cyril Neville)
2. Riverboat (feat. Nicholas Payton & Donald Harrison Jr.)
3. Everything I Do Gone Be Funky (feat. Maceo Parker)
4. With You In My Mind
5. Southern Nights (feat. Nicholas Payton & Wendell Pierce)

Customers Also Like