Genre: Folk
Label: New West
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Steve Earle TOWNES 2LP (Clear Vinyl)

Steve Earle

$19.99 $27.99
(You save $8.00 )
Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

13th Studio Album On Clear Vinyl Double LP!
First Pressing On Color Vinyl!
Limited To 3500 Copies!

2010 Grammy Award Winner:
• Best Contemporary Folk Album: TOWNES

Steve Earle's 2009 Grammy award-winning album, TOWNES, is pressed on color vinyl for the first time.

TOWNES is Steve Earle's follow up to the Grammy® Award-winning album Washington Square Serenade. The 15-song set is comprised of songs written by Earle's friend and mentor, the late singer-songwriter, Townes Van Zandt.

The songs selected for TOWNES were the ones that meant the most to Earle and the ones he personally connected to. Some of the selections chosen were songs that Earle has played his entire career ("Pancho And Lefty", "Lungs", "White Freightliner Blues"). He learned the song "(Quicksilver Daydreams Of) Maria" directly from Van Zandt. Earle taught himself "Marie And Rake" specifically for making this record. Earle recorded the New York sessions solo and then added the other instruments later on in order to preserve the spirit of Van Zandt's original solo performances to the best of his recollection.

The track "Lungs" was produced and mixed by the Dust Brothers' John King, and features Tom Morello of Rage Against The Machine on electric guitar.

"Townes Van Zandt is the best songwriter in the whole world and I'll stand on Bob Dylan's coffee table in my cowboy boots and say that." - Steve Earle

Earle made Townes' songs seem like an extension of his own last album, 2007's Washington Square Serenade. The same anything-goes-attitude, the adherence to all kinds of folk music, whether it's from across oceans, terrains, or alleyways, whether its roots are rural or urban, permeates this recording, making it an Earle record most of all; and that is about as fitting a tribute as there is to Van Zandt.
-Thom Jurek, AllMusic


  • Limited Edition 2021 - 3500 Copies Worldwide
  • Clear Vinyl
  • Double LP
  • First color vinyl pressing of this album
  • Gatefold jacket


Side One:

  1. Pancho And Lefty
  2. White Freightliner Blues
  3. Colorado Girl
  4. Where I Lead Me

Side Two:

  1. Lungs
  2. No Place To Fall
  3. Loretta
  4. Brand New Companion

Side Three:

  1. Rake
  2. Delta Momma Blues
  3. Marie

Side Four:

  1. Don't Take It Too Bad
  2. Mr. Mudd And Mr. Gold
  3. (Quicksilver Daydreams Of) Maria
  4. To Live Is To Fly

Customers Also Like