Stokowski Conducts Rimsky-Korsakov Scheherazade Hybrid Stereo SACD

London Symphony Orchestra

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Hybrid Stereo SACD!

This 1964 recording of Scheherazade - Stokowski's first in "Phase 4 Stereo" - is newly remastered at 24 bit / 96kHz, while Marche Slave, an encore of his 90th Birthday Concert in 1972, now makes its CD debut. To conclude, you hear the Maestro rehearsing the LSO during the Scheherazade sessions.

Leopold Anthony Stokowski was a legendary British orchestral conductor, well known for his free-hand performing style that spurned the traditional baton and for obtaining a characteristically sumptuous sound from the orchestras he conducted. He was one of the great personalities of the podium and held a profound commitment to the emotional impact of classical music. He conducted the music for and appeared in Disney's Fantasia and was a lifelong champion of contemporary composers, giving many premieres of new music during his 60-year conducting career.


  • Super Audio CD
  • SACD Stereo SACD Layer
  • This Hybrid SACD contains a 'Red Book' Stereo CD Layer which is playable on most conventional CD Players!
  • High Quality Master Recording
  • High Precision Mastering
  • New digital re-mastering at 24 bit / 96kHz
  • Re-mastered by Povee Chan
  • Made in the EU


London Symphony Orchestra
Erich Gruenberg solo violin
Leopold Stokowski conductor


Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov (1844-1908)

Scheherazade - Symphonic Suites After "A Thousand And One Nights" Op.35
  1. i. The Sea And Sinbad's Ship
  2. ii. The Story Of The Kalendar Prince
  3. iii. The Young Prince And The Young Princess
  4. iv. Festival At Baghdad - The Sea - Shipwreck

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1840-1893)

Marche Slave, Op.31
  1. Stokowski's Spoken Introduction At His 90th Birthday Concert (1972)
  2. Marche Slave

Stokowski In Rehearsal - Taped During The Scheherazade Recording Sessions

  1. "Music is heart, is feeilng, is passion, is impulse, all kinds of things..."
  2. "Splendid, wonderful, but a few things we can make better..."
  3. "Permit yourselves to be excited..."
  4. "Is any place in the first movement anybody would like to try again?..."

Customers Also Like