Rimsky-Korsakov Scheherazade Single-Layer Stereo Japanese Import SHM-SACD

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
This Single-Layer SHM-SACD can only be played on a Super Audio CD Player!

Scheherazade is a symphonic suite composed by Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov in 1888. Based on One Thousand and One Nights, sometimes known as The Arabian Nights,[1] this orchestral work combines two features common to Russian music and of Rimsky-Korsakov in particular: dazzling, colorful orchestration and an interest in the East, which figured greatly in the history of Imperial Russia, as well as orientalism in general. It is considered Rimsky-Korsakov's most popular work.

Rimsky wrote a brief introduction that he intended for use with the score, as well as the program for the premiere:

The Sultan Schariar, convinced that all women are false and faithless, vowed to put to death each of his wives after the first nuptial night. But the Sultana Sheherazade saved her life by entertaining her lord with fascinating tales, told seriatim, for a thousand and one nights. The Sultan, consumed with curiosity, postponed from day to day the execution of his wife, and finally repudiated his bloody vow entirely.

The grim bass motif that opens the first movement is supposed to represent the domineering Sultan. This theme emphasizes four notes of a descending whole tone scale: E-D-C-A?. But soon, after a few chords in the woodwinds reminiscent of the opening of Mendelssohn's Midsummer Night's Dream overture, we hear the leitmotif that represents the character of the storyteller herself, Scheherazade, his wife, who eventually succeeds at appeasing him with her stories. This theme is a tender, sensuously winding melody for violin solo, accompanied by harp.

In 1959 Conductor Seiji Ozawa won first prize at the highly esteemed International Competition of Orchestra Conductors held in Besançon, France. Upon receiving first prize, Seiji gained the attention and tutorship of Eugene Bigot (President of the Besançon competition jury), who gave Seiji lessons in conducting, and Charles Munch, who invited Seiji to the Berkshire Music Center at Tanglewood. In 1960, Conductor Seiji won the Koussevitzky Prize, Tanglewood’s highest honor, for outstanding student conductor. Shortly thereafter, Conductor Seiji moved to Berlin after winning a scholarship to study with the prominent Austrian conductor, Herbert von Karajan. While studying with Karajan, Conductor Seiji caught the eyes of Leonard Bernstein, who later appointed him as the assistant conductor of the New York Philharmonic. Conductor Seiji remained with Bernstein and the New York Philharmonic for the next four years. Seiji Ozawa became music director of the Boston Symphony Orchestra in 1973. His tenure at the BSO was maintained for 29 years, the longest tenure of any music director.

• Super High Material Super Audio CD
• SHM-SACD Stereo SACD Layer
• Single-Layer Stereo SHM-SACD, to secure enough reflectance and not to compress DSD file.
• Label of the disc is printed with a special green ink called 'Onsho Shiyou,' which minimizes diffuse reflection.
• Carefully selected master audio is used, from existing DSD files to newly converted from analog tapes.
• This Single-Layer SHM-SACD can only be played on a Super Audio CD Player! It will NOT play on conventional CD Players!

Boston Symphony Orchestra
Seiji Ozawa, conductor

Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov (1844 - 1908)
Scheherazade, Symphonic Suite, Op. 35

1. The Sea and Sindbad's Ship
2. The Story of the Kalandar Prince
3. The Young Prince and the Young Princess
4. Festival at Bagdad - The Sea - The Ship goes to pieces against a Rock surmounted by a Bronze Warrior - Conclusion

Customers Also Like