Sun Records Story 180g 6 LP Box Set

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
180 Gram Vinyl! 6 LP Box Set! All Analogue Remastering! Featuring Hits from Johnny Cash, Roy Orbison, Howlin' Wolf, Jerry Lee Lewis, Carl Perkins & More!

94 songs across 6 LPs, rescued from the Sun Records archives! Deluxe cardboard box with three double 180 gram albums: "Roots", "Good Rockin' Daddies", and "Hits And Then Some". All analogue remastering. Extensive liner notes.

The Sun Sound began when Sam Phillips launched his record company in February of 1952. He named it Sun Records as a sign of his perpetual optimism: a new day and a new beginning. Sam rented a small space at 706 Union Avenue for his own all-purpose studio. The label was launched amid a growing number of independent labels. In a short while Sun gained the reputation throughout Memphis as a label that treated local artists with respect and honesty. Sam provided a non-critical, spontaneous environment that invited creativity and vision.

As a businessman, Phillips was patient and willing to listen to almost anyone who came in off the street to record. Memphis was a happy home to a diverse musical scene: gospel, blues, hillbilly, country, boogie, and western swing. Taking advantage of this range of talent, there were no style limitations at the label. In one form or another Sun recorded them all.

Inherent in the music of Sun is a vibrancy that survives to this day. Sincere, passionate music. Music that has stood the test of time. It is music that has reached across race, age and gender boundaries. It reflects the diversity and vision of the talent that recorded on the Sun label, and indeed, American popular culture itself.

The 'Sun Records Story' documents the meteoric rise of a small, independent Memphis label from its roots in blues and country to ground-breaking Rock'n'Roll recordings. Major artists whose careers began at Sun include Johnny Cash, Jerry Lee Lewis, Elvis Presely, Roy Orbison, Carl Perkins and Howlin' Wolf. The 94 tracks making up this comprehensive 6-LP set chronicle the fortunes of this truly legendary record label. Includes detailed track-by-track notes.

• 180 Gram Vinyl
• 6 LP Housed in 1' 1/2" x 1' 1/2" x 1 1/4" Box Set
• All Analogue Remastering
• Extensive, Detailed Track-by-Track Liner Notes

Johnny Cash
Roy Orbison
Jimmy Wages
Howlin' Wolf
Elvis Presley
Jerry Lee Lewis
Carl Perkins
Sonny Burgess
Gene Simmons
Lost John Hunter
Joe Hill Louis
Harmonica Frank Floyd
Billy Love
Rosco Gordon
Little Junior Parker
Doctor Ross
James Cotton
Pat Hare
Jimmy Deberry
Billy "The Kid" Emerson
The Jones Brothers
Billy Lee Riley
Smokey Joe Baugh
Earl Peterson
Howard Serratt
Hardrock Gunter
Slim Rhodes
Charlie Feathers
Mack Vickery
Doug Pointdexter
Onie Wheeler
Jack Earls
Warren Smith
Eddie Bond
Hayden Thompson
Glenn Honeycutt
Ray Harris
Dick Penner
Malcolm Yelvington
Edwin Bruce
Luke Mcdaniel
Ray Smith
Tommy Blake
Rudy Grayzell
Carl Mcvoy
Andy Anderson
Jackie Brentson
The Prisonaires
Rufus Thomas
Charlie Rich
Carl Mann
Bill Justis

Volume 1: Roots
LP1 - Side A:

1. Cool Down Mama (Lost John Hunter)
2. Boggie In The Park (Joe Hill Louis)
3. Howling Tom Cat (Harmonica Frank Floyd)
4. Highway Man (Howlin' Wolf)
5. Juiced (Billy Love)
6. T. Model Boogie (Rosco Gordon)
7. Love My Baby (Little Junior Parker)
LP1 - Side B:
1. Come Back Baby (Doctor Ross)
2. Cotton Crop Blues (James Cotton)
3. I'm Gonna Murder My Baby (Pat Hare)
4. Time Has Made A Change (Jimmy DeBerry)
5. Red Hot (Billy "The Kid" Emerson)
6. Look To Jesus (The Jones Brothers)
7. Dark Muddy Bottom (Billy Lee Riley)
LP2 - Side C:
1. Hello, Hello Baby (Jerry Lee Lewis)
2. Listen To Me, Baby (Smokey Joe Baugh)
3. Boogie Blues (Earl Peterson)
4. Troublesome Waters (Howard Serratt)
5. Gonna Dance All Night (Hardrock Gunter)
6. Don't Believe (Slim Rhodes)
7. Defrost Your Heart (Charlie Feathers)
LP2 - Side D:
1. Sure To Fall (Carl Perkins)
2. Fool Proof (Mack Vickery)
3. Now She Cares No More For Me (Doug Pointdexter)
4. Jump Right Out Of The Jukebox (Onie Wheeler)
5. You're The Only Star In My Blue Heaven (Jerry Lee Lewis)
6. A Fool For Lovin' You (Jack Earls)
7. I'd Rather Be Safe Than Sorry (Warren Smith)
8. Come In Stranger (Johnny Cash)

Volume 2: Good Rockin’ Daddies
LP3 - Side E:

1. Rockin' Daddy (Eddie Bond)
2. Crazy Arms (Jerry Lee Lewis)
3. Mean Little Mama (Roy Orbison)
4. Got Love If You Want It (Warren Smith)
5. Crawdad Song (Jerry Lee Lewis)
6. Her Love Rubbed Off (Carl Perkins)
7. Mad Man (Jimmy Wages)
8. Love My Baby (Hayden Thompson)
9. Miss Froggie (Warren Smith)
LP3 - Side F:
1. Pearly Lee (Billy Lee Riley)
2. Deep Elem Blues (Jerry Lee Lewis)
3. That Don't Move Me (Carl Perkins)
4. All Night Rock (Glenn Honeycutt)
5. Come On Little Mama (Ray Harris)
6. Rock With Me Baby (Billy Lee Riley)
7. Fine Little Baby (Dick Penner)
8. Rockin' With My Baby (Malcolm Yelvington)
LP4 - Side G:
1. Baby That's Good (Edwin Bruce)
2. My Baby Don't Rock (Luke McDaniel)
3. Miss Pearl (Jimmy Wages)
4. That's Right (Carl Perkins)
5. So Glad You're Mine (Sonny Burgess)
6. Willing And Ready (Ray Smith)
7. Shake Around (Tommy Blake)
8. Crazy Woman (Gene Simmons)
LP4 - Side H:
1. Judy (Rudy Grayzell)
2. Good Rockin' Tonight (Jerry Lee Lewis)
3. A Woman's Love (Thrill Of Your Love) (Carl McVoy)
4. Tough, Tough, Tough (Andy Anderson)
5. (Take Me From This) Garden Of Evil (Jimmy Wages)
6. Have Faith In My Love (Alton & Jimmy)
7. Walk That Lonesome Valley (Jerry Lee Lewis & Elvis Presley)
8. Search For Me (Glenn Honeycutt)

Volume 3: Hits & Then Some!
LP5 - Side I:

1. Rocket 88 (Jackie Brentson)
2. Just Walkin' In The Rain (The Prisonaires)
3. Bear Cat (Rufus Thomas)
4. Blue Suede Shoes (Carl Perkins)
5. When It Rains It Pours (Billy "The Kid" Emerson)
6. Mystery Train (Little Junior Parker)
7. Boppin' The Blues (Carl Perkins)
LP5 - Side J:
1. Whole Lotta Shakin' Goin' On (Jerry Lee Lewis)
2. Flyin' Saucer Rock 'n Roll (Billy Lee Riley)
3. I Walk The Line (Johnny Cash)
4. Ooby Dooby (Roy Orbison)
5. We Wanna Boogie (Sonny Burgess)
6. Dixie Fried (Carl Perkins)
7. Great Balls Of Fire (Jerry Lee Lewis)
8. Red Hot (Billy Lee Riley)
LP6 - Side K:
1. Big River (Johnny Cash)
2. Rock 'n' Roll Ruby (Warren Smith)
3. Breathless (Jerry Lee Lewis)
4. Honey Don't (Carl Perkins)
5. Red Headed Woman (Sonny Burgess)
6. Ballad Of A Teenage Queen (Johnny Cash)
7. High School Confidential (Jerry Lee Lewis)
8. Matchbox (Carl Perkins)
LP6 - Side L:
1. Lonely Weekends (Charlie Rich)
2. I'm Coming Home (Carl Mann)
3. Who Will The Next Fool Be? (Charlie Rich)
4. What'd I Say (Jerry Lee Lewis)
5. Guess Things Happen That Way (Johnny Cash)
6. Raunchy (Bill Justis)
7. Mona Lisa (Carl Mann)
8. Whirlwind (Charlie Rich)

Customers Also Like