Genre: Folk
Label: Cooking Vinyl
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Suzanne Vega An Evening Of New York Songs And Stories 180g 2LP

Suzanne Vega

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Stunning Live Recording On 180g Double LP!
Mixed by Kevin Killen & Mastered by Bob Ludwig!

Widely regarded as one of the foremost songwriters of her generation, Suzanne Vega emerged as a leading figure of the folk-music revival of the early 1980s. Since the release of her self-titled, critically acclaimed 1985 debut album, she has written and recorded numerous songs that have become part of the contemporary music vernacular, including "Luka", certainly the only hit song ever written from the perspective of an abused boy, "Marlene on the Wall", a surprise hit in the UK and "Tom's Diner", a strange little a cappella piece that was remixed by U.K. electronic dance duo DNA and became a major club hit. Her albums, including her self-titled debut, the follow-up Solitude Standing, and 99.9F have sold millions of copies.

On 'An Evening of New York Songs and Stories', Vega revisits some of her most New York-centric repertoire in a stunning live recording on which she is backed by longtime guitarist, Gerry Leonard, bassist Jeff Allen and keyboardist Jamie Edwards. Recorded at New York City's famed Café Carlyle in early 2019, the album includes both familiar songs like "Luka" and "Tom's Diner" and deep cuts from her catalog like "Frank and Ava" and "Ludlow Street". The mix of repertoire also features "New York Is My Destination" from Lover, Beloved: Songs from an Evening with Carson McCullers, Vega's one-woman play about the Southern gothic novelist Carson McCullers, and a cover of her late friend Lou Reed's "Walk on the Wild Side".

The album was produced by Gerry Leonard, mixed by Grammy Award-winning engineer Kevin Killen and mastered by Grammy Award winner Bob Ludwig.


  • 180g Vinyl
  • Double LP
  • Produced by Gerry Leonard
  • Mixed by Kevin Killen
  • Mastered by Bob Ludwig
  • Gatefold jacket
  • Made in the EU
  • Limited time download card


Side A:

  1. Marlene On The Wall
  2. Luka
  3. 'So how many people are here from out of town?'
  4. New York Is A Woman
  5. 'This next song takes place on 59th street...'
  6. Frank And Ava

Side B:

  1. 'So I myself came to New York City when I was 2 ½ years old'
  2. Gypsy
  3. Freeze Tag
  4. Pornographer's Dream
  5. 'This next song is called New York Is My Destination'
  6. New York Is My Destination

Side C:

  1. 'The first time I saw Lou Reed...'
  2. Walk On The Wild Side
  3. Ludlow Street
  4. Cracking
  5. 'And now we've got a song about those times...'
  6. Some Journey

Side D:

  1. 'I'm gonna close with this song...'
  2. Tom's Diner
  3. 'Would you like another one?'
  4. Anniversary
  5. Tombstone
  6. Thin Man

Customers Also Like