Genre: Pop Rock
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Swans Children Of God 2LP


Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Completely Remastered From Original Mixes On 2LP!
First Time On Vinyl Since 1987!

By 1986/'87 Swans had run its course with the physical assault of sound they had employed previously for the most part. Michael Gira states, "I wanted to move on to other things and didn't want to get stuck in some style, which in our case had the potential of becoming cartoonish if we'd continued in that direction. So, I pushed the music into unfamiliar territory."

The band spent 6 weeks in an old isolated medieval sawmill in Cornwall, England "experimenting" and hashing things out. Gira describes the lineup with Kizys / Westberg / Jarboe / Parsons as "one of the best live versions of Swans ever - actually much more intense and visceral in performance than in the nuanced takes of the songs on these recordings. Jarboe came more to the fore as a presence, too."

In 2008 Gira would reflect on Children of God as a major turning point for Swans, and the musical tendencies that are first engendered here were fertile ground for the remaining future records. Originally released on Product Inc. (a subsidiary of Mute) in 1987, the album has been remastered and will be available on vinyl in it's original packaging for the first time since that release. The vinyl issue will include the live album, Feel Good Now (recorded on the 1987 Children of God European tour) as a download card.


  • Double LP
  • Completely remastered from original mixes in 2020
  • First pressing since 1987
  • Original Artwork/Packaging
  • Gatefold jacket
  • Limited-time download card for the remastered live album Feel Good Now



  1. New Mind
  2. In My Garden
  3. Our Love Lies
  4. Sex God Sex
  5. Blood And Honey
  6. Like A Drug (Sha La La La)
  7. You're Not Real, Girl
  8. Beautiful Child
  9. Blackmail
  10. Trust Me
  11. Real Love
  12. Blind Love
  13. Children Of God

Feel Good Now (Limited-Time Download Card):

  1. Intro
  2. Blind Love
  3. Like A Drug (Sha La La La)
  4. Blood And Honey
  5. New Mind
  6. Sex God Sex
  7. Beautiful Child
  8. Blackmail
  9. Trust Me
  10. Children Of God
  11. Beautiful Child Reprise Backstab
  12. Thank You Goodbye

Customers Also Like