Genre: Blues
Label: Pure Pleasure
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Taj Mahal Recycling The Blues & Other Related Stuff 180g LP

Taj Mahal

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
180 Gram Audiophile Vinyl! Pressed at Pallas in Germany!

Guitar/piano playing rural blues revivalist Taj Mahal was quite a rarity in the late, '60s - a young black who accurately revived classic country blues for a new generation of listeners. Mahal took an archival interest in folk blues while joining in during the early '60s. On this LP, one side is recorded live at the Fillmore West and the other side at Columbia's San Francisco studios with backup from the Pointer Sisters. Taj plays the steel-bodied guitar, kalimba, banjo, conch, and upright bass.

• 180g Vinyl
• Pressed at Pallas in Germany
• Limited Edition

Pointer Sisters, background vocals (9,10)
Howard Johnson, tuba, hand claps (8)
Taj, National steel-bodied guitar, kalimba, banjo, conch, hand claps, upright bass

1. Conch (Introduction)
2. Kalimba
3. Bound to Love Me Some
4. Ricochet
5. A Free Song (Rise Up Children Shake the Devil Out of Your Soul)
6. Corinna
7. Conch Close
8. Cakewalk into Town
9. Sweet Home Chicago
10. Texas Woman Blues
11. Gitano Negro

Selections 1-7 recorded live at Winterland, San Francisco.

Customers Also Like