Genre: Jazz
Label: STS Digital
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Tango Extremo Tango Extremo DMM 180g Import LP

Tango Extremo

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Intriguing Ensemble Live on 180g Vinyl LP!
Direct Metal Master! Pressed at Optimal Germany!
Metal Cutting by Pauler Acoustics!

Tango Extremo brings a distinctive flavor to the passion and persuasion of the Argentine tango. Since its inception in 2003, the ensemble has made remarkable development, making a big impression on both the Dutch as well as the foreign stages. The group was formed by violinist Tanya Schaap, who from that moment was the artistic leader behind this ensemble. The line-up is not conventional, but this actually proved to make for various musical opportunities and creativity. It also makes for the group's unique sound. The repertoire is broad and extraordinary in its kind. Genres such as European and South-American folklore, classical music, jazz- and Brazilian music are combined with 'tango nuevo'. Over the past years, the group has specialized in music from the Argentinian Rio de la Plata region and diverse cross-overs within the 'tango nuevo' idiom.

From the mixing console:
Tango Extremo is really an extremo recording, if I may use the title from the LP in this way. First of all it is live and it has an extreme dynamic range. Fast and furious it sounds, more than live I would say. That makes this album a must have for everybody who loves great music and of course very exciting recordings. From the UK was used the 8 channel Audio Developments mixer AD 255 and from the US the 88.2-24bit, 24 channel Alesis. Siltech microphone cables and interlinks were used throughout the recording. A single Schoeps MK21 on the bass, two Schoeps MK21 on the piano, one Schoeps MK21 on the violin and one Schoeps MK21 on the saxophone and accordion. For ambiance two LCM-3 microphones designed by a Dutch company Mazenier Electronics were used. The recording of this LP was possible due to a contribution from Hans Kortenbach, manufacturer of Metrum Acoustics DA convertors and headphone amplifiers and Frens Mazenier by providing his mircophones. We hope that this LP album will soon become an icon on every high end analogue turntable. Don't let yourself be put off knowing this is a digital recording, just give it a chance. I like it very much, I hope you will like it too.
- Balance engineer Fritz de With - STS Digital

With the greatest pleasure I herewith would like to present you our first LP, our first vinyl! After ten years of Tango Extremo and after producing seven cd's with this group I am very proud to have been able to produce an LP with live recordings of a memorable concert we did in 2013 in Theater De Speeldoos in Baarn, The Netherlands. I hope you will enjoy it and look forward to meeting you during one of our concerts somewhere in the world. Special thanks to Fritz de With for all his help and expertise to produce this wonderful album!
- With love, Tanya Schaap


  • 180g Vinyl
  • Direct Metal Mastering
  • MW Coding Process
  • Pressed at Optimal Germany
  • Metal Cutting: Pauler Acoustics, Germany


Tanya Schapp violin
Ben van den Dungen soprano saxophone
Hans van der Maas accordian
Rob van Kreeveld piano
Marc van Rooij double bass


Side A:

  1. Milonga de mis Amores (composer: Pedro Laurenz, Arrangement: Tango Extremo)
  2. Dark Eyes (Composer: Mikhail Vavich, Arrangement: Rob van Kreeveld)
  3. El Silencio (Composer: Hilga Mulder and Ben van den Dungen)
  4. Sarabande (Composer: Georg Friedrich Handel, Arrangement: Ben van den Dungen)

Side B:

  1. Burnt by the Sun (Composer: Eduard Artemep)
  2. Amsterdam (Composer: Ben van den Dungen)
  3. La Habanera y Torreador (Composer: Georges Bizet, Arrangement: Ben van den Dungen)
  4. La Montagne (Composer: Jean Ferrat)

Customers Also Like