Tchaikovsky & Dvorak Symphony No. 6 & Rusalka Fantasy Hybrid Multi-Channel & Stereo SACD

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Thrilling Live Performances in Brilliant Audiophile Sound!

Of his Symphony No. 6, Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky wrote, "But I absolutely consider it to be the best, and in particular, the most sincere of all my creations. I love it as I have never loved any of my other musical offspring." Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 6 was the composer’s final completed symphony. He led the premiere performance in October of 1893, only nine days before his death.

This release also includes the world premiere recording of the “Rusalka Fantasy”. This orchestral suite is taken from Dvorak’s opera by Manfred Honeck and Tomas Ille. Performing these works is the Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra, which has a long and rich history of touting the world’s finest musicians and conductors.

This is the fifth release in the well-received Pittsburgh Live! series.

"Good barely covers it. All eight of the releases that the Pittsburgh forces have brought out on Reference Recordings, with the aid of microphone whizzes from Soundmirror, come with the highest of recommendations.… Four have received nominations for the Grammy for best orchestral performance. One, of Shostakovich's Symphony No. 5 and Barber's Adagio for Strings, won in 2018. …" - David Allen, The New York Times

• Super Audio CD
• SACD 5.1 Multi-Channel SACD Layer
• SACD Stereo SACD Layer
• This Hybrid SACD contains a 'Red Book' Stereo CD Layer which is playable on most conventional CD Players!

Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra
Manfred Honeck, conductor

Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1840-1893)
Symphony No. 6 in B minor, Op. 74 "Pathetique"

1. Adagio - Allegro Non Troppo
2. Allegro Con Grazia
3. Allegro Molto Vivace
4. Finale: Adagio Lamentoso - Andante

Antonin Dvorak (1841 - 1904)
5. Rusalka Fantasy (arr. Honeck/Ille)

Total playing time, 67:03

Customers Also Like