Tchaikovsky, Glinka, Rimsky-Korsakov Capriccio Italien Etc 180g LP

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Great Sounding Classical Title from EMI!

180g Audiophile Vinyl Cut from the Original EMI Stereo Analogue Master Tapes at Abbey Road Studios!

"A selection of delightful Russian music, brilliantly conducted and beautifully played..." said the GRAMOPHONE on this album's stereo release in July 1960. This atmospheric and superbly recorded album displays all Kletzki's hallmark qualities: precision of ensemble, clarity of instrumental detail and warmth of orchestral sound and has long been a collector's item.

Although Paul Kletzki is now remembered as primarily a conductor, it was as a composer that he first made his mark in the 1920s and 1930s. He came to the attention of Toscanini and Furtwangler, the latter who permitted Kletzki to conduct the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra in 1925 and championed his many compositions. His bitter personal experiences of the Second World War, however, in which he lost many of his family, appeared to destroy his creative spirit and he stopped composing in 1942. The rest of his career was devoted to conducting. He made several recordings for EMI in the Fifties and Sixties.

Recorded on August 30 and September 3 & 4, 1958 at the Kingsway Hall, London with legendary producers Victor Olof and Peter Andry (Capriccio Italien) and engineers Harold Davidson and Robert Gooch (Capriccio Italien).
"Paul Kletzki has something of Beecham's genius for giving new life to moribund musical showpieces, and he uses the same methods: nicely-judged tempo, beautifully-tailored melodic phrasing, firm rhythmic accents timed to a split second, and an emphasis on significant detail... The Philharmonia... is at its brilliant best... the recording is clear and well rounded..." -GRAMOPHONE, DC

Cut at Abbey Road Studios from the original stereo analogue master tapes with the Neumann VMS82 lathe fed an analogue pre-cut signal from a specially adapted Studer A80 tape deck with additional ‘advance’ playback head, making the cut a totally analogue process.

Pressed on 180g vinyl to audiophile standards using the original EMI presses by The Vinyl Factory in Hayes, England.

• Hi-Q Records Supercuts 180g Vinyl
• Cut at Abbey Road Studios from the original EMI stereo analogue master tapes
• Superior Audiophile Pressing
• Features original album artwork
• Made in England

Philharmonia Orchestra
Paul Kletzki, conductor

Side One:
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1840-1893)

1. Andante Cantabile (from String Quartet No.1 in D major Op.11)
2. Capriccio Italien, Op.45

Side Two:
Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov (1844-1908)

1. Tsar Saltan Suite, Op.57

Mikhail Glinka (1804-1857)
2. Jota Aragonesa

Customers Also Like