Genre: Jazz
Label: Venus


The Andrea Pozza Trio Sweet Lorraine Single-Layer Stereo Japanese Import SACD

The Andrea Pozza Trio

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
This Single-Layer SACD can only be played on a Super Audio CD Player!

All Italian Trio on SACD!

Italian pianist Andrea Pozza, bassist Luciano Milanese and drummer Stefano Bagnoli perform a set including "Yesterdays", "I Love You", "Sweet Lorraine", "Alone Together", "All Too Soon" and more.

"Andrea Pozza is one of the most promising jazz pianists of his generation to emerge on the European scene. On these sessions, he is accompanied by bassist Luciano Milanese and drummer Stefano Bagnoli, both of whom are first-call players for Italian record dates. Producer Tetsuo Hara has a strong preference for a heavy dose of standards, and Pozza doesn't disappoint, starting with a tense yet swinging take of 'Yesterdays.' 'Sweet Lorraine' is inevitably compared to landmark versions by Nat King Cole or Art Tatum; Pozza's lyrical arrangement doesn't have a vocal nor fireworks at the keyboard, it is just a solid, swinging effort that gradually gathers steam, with a strong solo by Milanese as well. The pianist also has a gift for ballads, opening Duke Ellington's bittersweet 'All Too Soon' unaccompanied while utilizing the sustain pedal extensively until his sidemen join him. He omits the verse to 'Poor Butterfly,' opting to pick up the tempo a bit more than most interpreters. There is one relative obscurity present: Billy Strayhorn's gorgeous ballad 'Orson,' a dreamy solo feature for Pozza." - Ken Dryden,

• Super Audio CD
• SACD Stereo SACD Layer
• This Single-Layer SACD can only be played on a Super Audio CD Player! It will NOT play on conventional CD Players!
• Made in Japan

Andrea Pozza, piano
Luciano Milanese, bass
Stefano Bagnoli, drums

1. Yesterdays
2. I Love You
3. Sweet Lorraine
4. Alone Together
5. All Too Soon
6. Crazy He Calls Me
7. If I Should Lose You
8. If I Had You
9. I'll Be Seeing You
10. I Want To Be Happy
11. Orson
12. Poor Butterfly

Recorded by Benedict Frassinelli at Mondial Sound in Milano on January 20 and 21, 2005

Customers Also Like