The Apollo Soundtrack 2LP

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Soundtrack Featuring Ella Fitzgerald, Duke Ellington, Etta James, Aretha Franklin & More On Double LP!

This item not eligible for any further discount offers!

32-Track Soundtrack Album Spotlights Classic Recordings by Count Basie, James Brown, Ella Fitzgerald, Aretha Franklin, Marvin Gaye, Billie Holiday and More

Debuts New Robert Glasper Song with Vocals by Ledisi, Plus Selections from Glasper's Original Score and Spoken Excerpts from Angela Bassett, Ta-Nehisi Coates, Pharrell Williams and Others

THE APOLLO: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack is the audio accompaniment to the HBO documentary released November 6, 2019. Helmed by Oscar® and Emmy®-winning director Roger Ross Williams, THE APOLLO chronicles the unique history and contemporary legacy of New York City's landmark Apollo Theater. The soundtrack album is produced by the film's music supervisors, Grammy®-nominated Dondi Bastone and TunesMap founder G. Marq Roswell, and mastered by Ian Sefchick at Capitol Studios. The album includes music by Ella Fitzgerald, Duke Ellington, Etta James, Aretha Franklin, Dizzy Gillespie, Charles Mingus, Gladys Knight, James Brown and more.

THE APOLLO documentary film weaves together archival clips of music, comedy and dance performances from an astonishing list of legendary talents that includes James Brown, Ella Fitzgerald, Aretha Franklin, Lauryn Hill, and Richard Pryor; behind-the-scenes verite footage of the team that makes the theater run; and interviews with such artists as Angela Bassett, Common, Jamie Foxx, Patti LaBelle, Smokey Robinson, and Pharrell Williams. Williams also examines the current state of race in America, following the 2018 multimedia adaptation of Ta-Nehisi Coates' bestselling book Between the World and Me as it comes together on the theater's grand stage. In the film, Williams explores not only the struggle of black lives in America, but the role that art plays in that struggle, and the essential part the Apollo continues to play in the cultural conversation.

THE APOLLO: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack brings together timeless music by many greats who have taken the stage at the Apollo with stories and memories from those who were there. The soundtrack provides an intimate audio experience, interspersing new and classic recordings – Charles Mingus' "Take the 'A' Train," Ella Fitzgerald's "How High The Moon," Billie Holiday's "Strange Fruit," Marvin Gaye's "What's Going On," and James Brown's "Say It Loud-I'm Black and I'm Proud" and "Lost Someone" (from his first Live at the Apollo album), to name a few – with interview excerpts from the film from those who made it happen show-after-show, as well as authors, artists, and community leaders who share their insights. Excerpted segments from the film include brief comments from President Barack Obama, Angela Bassett, Pharrell Williams, and more.

Throughout the soundtrack album, THE APOLLO's music composer, Emmy and five-time Grammy-winning Loma Vista Recordings artist Robert Glasper, takes listeners through several interviews with original score elements. The soundtrack also presents score pieces by composer Todd Griffin in this context, including an excerpt from the film spotlighting the stage adaptation of Coates' Between the World and Me.


  • Double LP


Side 1:

  1. Kenneth J. Thompson, Apollo Greeter
  2. T. Griffin - Opening, The Apollo Theater
  3. Charles Mingus - Take The 'A' Train
  4. Fletcher Henderson & His Orchestra - Memphis Blues
  5. Marion J. Caffey - Interview Excerpt
  6. Ella Fitzgerald - How High The Moon
  7. Duke Ellington & His Cotton Club Orchestra - Old Man Blues
  8. Pearl Bailey - She's Something Spanish
  9. Count Basie & His Orchestra - Jive At Five

Side 2:

  1. Ted Fox - Interview Excerpt
  2. Billie Holliday - Strange Fruit
  3. Mikki Shepard - Interview Excerpt
  4. Marvin Gaye - What's Going On
  5. Kamilah Forbes - Interview Excerpt
  6. James Brown - Say It Loud - I'm Black And I'm Proud
  7. Ta-Nehisi Coates - Interview Excerpt
  8. Robert Glasper - Apollo As Home
  9. Gladys Knight & The Pips - Home Is Where The Heart Is

Side 3:

  1. Robert Glasper - Mission Statement
  2. Johnny Hodges - Come Sunday
  3. James Brown - Lost Someone (Live At The Apollo)
  4. Robert Glasper - Schiffman Cards
  5. Jimmy Smith - T'aint No Use
  6. Robert Glasper - Obama Returns To The Apollo
  7. Aretha Franklin - Rock Steady

Side 4:

  1. Kenny Burrell & Grover Washington Jr. - Asphalt Canyon Blues
  2. Etta James - Something's Got A Hold On Me
  3. Robert Glasper - Harlem Riots
  4. Dizzy Gillespie Octet - Duke's Last Soliloquy
  5. Ta-Nehisi Coates And T. Griffin
  6. Robert Glasper w/ Ledisi - Don't Turn Back Now
  7. President Barack Obama At The Apollo Theater, January 19, 2012

Customers Also Like