Genre: Jazz
Label: Venus


The Barney Wilen Quartet Le ca: New York Romance Single-Layer Stereo Japanese Import SACD

The Barney Wilen Quartet

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

This Single-Layer SACD can only be played on a Super Audio CD Player!

One of the Most Celebrated European Jazz Musicians on SACD!

A saxophone player, Barney Wilen made his name when Miles Davis chose him to play in a group he was fronting in Europe in 1957. Wilen is backed here by Kenny Barron on piano, Ira Coleman on bass and Lewis Nash on drums.

Throughout, Kenny Barron gets acres of well-turned solo space - it's practically his gig, too - and Ira Coleman (bass) and Lewis Nash (drums) provide crisp underpinning.


  • Super Audio CD
  • SACD Stereo SACD Layer
  • This Single-Layer SACD can only be played on a Super Audio CD Player! It will NOT play on conventional CD Players!
  • Made in Japan


Barney Wilen soprano, tenor & baritone saxophones
Kenny Barron piano
Ira Coleman bass
Lewis Nash drums


  1. No Problem
  2. Cry Me A River
  3. Blues Walk
  4. You've Changed
  5. You'd Be So Nice To Come Home To
  6. Mack The Knife
  7. Don't Fence Me In
  8. Old Devil Moon
  9. I Will Say Goodbye

Recorded at Rudy Van Gelder Studio,Englewood Cliffs,New Jersey, June 19-20,1994.

Customers Also Like