The Blues Came Down From Memphis LP ("Memphis Blues" Vinyl)

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Rare 1965 Compilation On Limited Edition "Memphis Blues" Color Vinyl!
Remastered By Nick Robbins At Soundmastering Studios!

The comprehensive remastering and repackaging of Sun album classics continues with the rare The Blues Came Down From Memphis, originally compiled by blues producer legend Mike Vernon in 1965 and released on London Records and later by Charly Records in 1977.

While Sam Phillips was responsible for the discovery of no less than five bonafide rock 'n' roll legends in Elvis Presley, Carl Perkins, Johnny Cash, Roy Orbison and Jerry Lee Lewis, he should also be given great credit for setting up his own studio in the late-forties to record solely black artists such as Howlin' Wolf, Doctor Ross, Harmonica Frank, Rufus Thomas and Walter Horton. Following the recording of these sixteen blues tracks, Sun Records entered the world of popular music and Memphis blues lost its primary recording outlet. These classic recordings stand therefore as fitting tributes to one of the most influential of blues styles and to Sam Phillips who devoted himself to putting it on record.

Complete with in-depth and informative sleeve notes by blues authority Neil Slaven, this new edition has been expanded to include recordings by Howlin' Wolf and Little Junior's Blue Flames and is remastered by Nick Robbins at Soundmastering Studios from new transfers made from the original master tapes by Chase Gregory at Sun.

This limited-edition compilation has been personally overseen by Sun Entertainment Corporation president John Singleton in Nashville and Charly Records founder Jean-Luc Young and continues the long relationship between the companies begun by Shelby Singleton and Young almost 50 years ago.


  • Limited Edition - 1000 Copies On "Memphis Blue" Color Vinyl
  • Vinyl LP
  • Expanded Edition
  • Remastered by Nick Robbins At Soundmastering Studios
  • Remastered From New Transfers Made From The Original Master Tapes by Chase Gregory at Sun
  • In-Depth Sleeve Notes by Neil Slaven
  • Made in Germany


Side One:

  1. How Many More Years (Alternate Take) [Howlin' Wolf]
  2. The Boogie Disease (Doctor Ross)
  3. Cotton Crop Blues (James Cotton)
  4. Baker Shop Boogie (Willie Nix)
  5. Bear Cat (Rufus Thomas Jr.)
  6. Take A Little Chance (Jimmy DeBerry)
  7. Juke Box Boogie (Doctor Ross)
  8. I Feel So Worried (Sammy Lewis - Willie Johnson Combo)

Side Two:

  1. If You Love Me Baby (Little Milton)
  2. Time Has Made A Change (Jimmy DeBerry)
  3. Come Back Baby (Doctor Ross)
  4. So Long Baby Goodbye (Sammy Lewis - Willie Johnson Combo)
  5. Tiger Man (King Of The Jungle) [Rufus Thomas Jr.]
  6. Seems Like A Million Years (Willie Nix)
  7. Chicago Breakdown (Doctor Ross)
  8. Mystery Train (Little Junior's Blue Flames)

Customers Also Like