Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Sundazed
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


The Byrds The Preflyte Sessions 2LP (Transparent Orange & Transparent Red Vinyl)

The Byrds

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Limited Edition Color Vinyl Double LP!
1 Transparent Orange LP & 1 Transparent Red LP!

Before turning rock 'n' roll on its ear in the spring of '65, the Byrds spent countless hours creating and refining their unique sound at LA's World Pacific Studios. Hear history literally in the making as McGuinn, Crosby, Clark, Hillman and Clarke record newborn, spine-tingling versions of classics-to-be like "Mr. Tambourine Man", "You Won't Have To Cry",""I Knew I'd Want You" and "Here Without You" as well as lost gems such as "The Reason Why", "Tomorrow Is A Long Ways Away" and "You Showed Me" (later a smash for the Turtles).

This is the most comprehensive collection of the Byrds' pre-Columbia recordings ever assembled. The double High-Definition Vinyl LP set Preflyte Sessions set is filled with World Pacific Studio recordings circa 1964 and '65; tracks include all cuts found on the original Together-label Preflyte album, plus unissued and alternate versions from both the acoustic and electric Byrds' sessions, early David Crosby demo recordings, and the rare pre-Byrds Jet Set recording of "The Only Girl I Adore".

The Preflyte Sessions features a historical essay by Rolling Stone Senior Editor David Fricke - based on new interviews with Roger McGuinn, Chris Hillman, original Byrds' manager Jim Dickson and others present at the sessions - and is handsomely adorned with an absolute wealth of previously unpublished photos by Jim Dickson and legendary rock photographer Barry Feinstein. The Byrds' Preflyte Sessions captures the newly-kindled fire and enthusiasm of one of the most legendary and influential groups of all time.


  • Limited Edition
  • Double LP
  • 1 Transparent Orange Vinyl LP
  • 1 Transparent Red Vinyl LP
  • Historical essay by Rolling Stone Senior Editor David Fricke, based on new interviews with Roger McGuinn, Chris HIllman, Jim Dickson and more
  • Previously unpublished photos by Jim Dickson and Barry Feinstein


LP 1:

  1. The Reason Why (version II)
  2. You Won't Have To Cry (electric)
  3. She Has A Way (version IV)
  4. You Showed Me (electric)
  5. Here Without You (version II)
  6. Don't Be Long
  7. Boston (version II)
  8. Tomorrow Is A Long Ways Away (electric)
  9. It's No Use (version II)
  10. You Movin' (version III)
  11. Please Let Me Love You
  12. The Airport Song
  13. Mr. Tambourine Man (electric)
  14. I Knew I'd Want You (electric version I)

LP 2:

  1. The Only Girl I Adore
  2. Tomorrow Is A Long Ways Away (acoustic)
  3. You Showed Me (acoustic)
  4. Willie Jean (David Crosby)
  5. Come Back Baby (David Crosby)
  6. Jack Of Diamonds (David Crosby)
  7. Get Together (David Crosby)
  8. I Knew I'd Want You (acoustic
  9. She Has A Way (version I)
  10. Here Without You (version I)
  11. For Me Again (version I)
  12. It's No Use (version I)
  13. The Reason Why (version I)
  14. Boston (version I)

Recorded at World Pacific Studios, Los Angeles, California, 1964-65.

Customers Also Like