Size: 12"
Composer: Bob Dylan
Format: 33RPM,


The Charlie Daniels Band Off the Grid: Doin' It Dylan Numbered Limited Edition LP (Silver Vinyl)

The Charlie Daniels Band

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Daniels Does Dylan on Numbered, Limited Edition Silver Vinyl!

"Back when Charlie Daniels was a working musician and not a star, he played on three albums by Bob Dylan - he played guitar and bass on the sessions that became Nashville Skyline, Self Portrait, and New Morning (which means he also shows up on the acclaimed 2013 archival release, Another Self Portrait (1969-1971)) - so his decision to cut an album devoted to Dylan is not out of the blue. What is surprising is that Off the Grid: Doin' It Dylan isn't one of Daniels' tossed-off latter-day albums, but rather a record where Charlie really digs in, savoring the interplay of his band as well as how the words feel in his mouth. Daniels does indeed choose a few of Bob's densely written songs - 'Mr. Tambourine Man,' 'A Hard Rain's Gonna Fall,' and 'Just Like a Woman' are here, none of them seeming like easy fits on paper, but each carried with conviction by Charlie - along with country-rockers that are sure bets: the rollicking ditty 'Country Pie,' 'I'll Be Your Baby Tonight,' and 'Tangled Up in Blue,' whose narrative gets trimmed down and sped up without losing its power. That impassioned reworking of 'Tangled Up in Blue' - which finds a counterpart in a nicely raucous back porch rendition of 'Quinn the Eskimo' - goes a long way toward explaining what's so joyous about Off the Grid. Daniels enjoys not the words of Dylan so much as the melodies and music, using these songs not as ruminative reflection but full-bore celebration. Even the ballads - and there are a few here - are played for keeps and if that music-first emphasis is a relative rarity among Dylan tributes, it's also true that it's been a long time since Daniels has sounded as engaged on a record as he is here." -Stephen Thomas Erlewine,, 4/5 stars (Best of 2014)


  • Numbered, Limited Edition - 1,000 Copies
  • Silver Vinyl


  1. Tangled Up in Blue
  2. Times They Are a Changin'
  3. I'll Be Your Baby Tonight
  4. Gotta Serve Somebody
  5. I Shall Be Released
  6. Country Pie
  7. Mr. Tambourine Man
  8. Hard Rain's a Gonna Fall
  9. Just Like a Woman
  10. Quinn the Eskimo (The Mighty Quinn)

Customers Also Like