The Dallas Winds Asphalt Cocktail: The Music of John Mackey HDCD

The Dallas Winds

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Mastered by Prof. Keith Johnson!
HDCD Encoded!

Brilliant performances by THE DALLAS WINDS have been captured in superb audiophile sound by Reference Recordings’ award-winning engineering team: Keith O. Johnson and Sean Martin. ASPHALT COCKTAIL was crowd-funded by fans of Mackey and of the Dallas Winds. Their support made this unique, all-John Mackey release possible. The recording was made in Dallas Texas, in the Morton H. Meyerson Concert Center, one of the world’s greatest concert halls.

Mackey is one of today’s most popular and sought-after composers of contemporary classical music, with an emphasis on wind band and orchestral music. His music runs the gamut of human emotion, from the sublime to the ridiculous. One minute he offers the sound of ripping metal, then suddenly gives you a melody that’s achingly beautiful. John always writes with a purpose, be it jostling you through the wildest Manhattan cab ride ever, or painting that ethereal hour just before sunset.

Special guest artist on ASPHALT COCKTAIL is Principal Trumpet of the New York Philharmonic, Christopher Martin, performing Mackey’s recently written Antique Violences: Concerto for Trumpet. Also included is the World Premiere of This Cruel Moon based on the second movement of Mackey’s Wine-Dark Sea: Symphony for Band.

Asphalt Cocktail is a knock-you-off-your-seats opener which is now somewhat of a band standard, while the final Ringmaster's March demonstrates the composer's utter familiarity with this most important of genres, Fillmore and Goldman in the forefront. These are but a few highlights of this rollicking disc, played with abandoned splendor in the Dallas Meyerson Symphony Center. If you have been avoiding band music all these years, you simply don't have any idea what you are missing. Turn off that Mozart and slide into some of this stuff for a while-you will not regret it! Typical, standard, everyday Reference sound - meaning absolutely great.
-Steven Ritter, Audiophile Audition
• HDCD/24-bit
• Mastered by Prof. Keith O. Johnson

Dallas Winds
Christopher Martin, trumpet
Jerry Junkin, conductor

1. Asphalt Cocktail
2. This Cruel Moon (world premiere)
3. Fanfare for Full Fathom Five
4. Sheltering Sky
5. High Wire
6. Hymn to A Blue Hour
Antique Violences: Concerto for Trumpet
7. The Blooded Lines
8. Secrets' Teeth
9. Sorrow Is A Blade
10. The Curtain Calls
11. The Frozen Cathedral
12. The Ringmaster's March

Total playing time, 75:02

Customers Also Like