The University of Texas Wind Ensemble Migration HDCD

The University of Texas Wind Ensemble

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Superb Performances of World Premiere Recordings on Stereo CD!
HDCD Encoded with Deluxe Booklet!

The University of Texas Wind Ensemble has firmly established itself as one of America's elite wind bands. Active in the area of commissioning new music since 1988, the group has offered world premiere performances of works by many composers including John Corigliano, Michael Daugherty, Donald Grantham, David Maslanka, John Mackey and Dan Welcher. One of the guiding principles of the ensemble is contact with the leading musical minds of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries.

Serving for more than 30 years on the faculty of The University of Texas at Austin, where he holds the Vincent R. and Jane D. DiNino Chair for the Director of Bands, Jerry Junkin is recognized as one of the world's most highly regarded wind conductors. He has also served since 1993 as the Artistic Director and Conductor of the Dallas Winds, and as Music Director and Conductor of the Hong Kong Wind Philharmonia since 2003.

Four outstanding contemporary composers are represented on this album. The title piece by Adam Schoenberg: Migration - Symphony No. 2 for Wind Ensemble, is the World Premiere recording of this important new work. Reference Recordings is proud to present it beside two additional World Premieres: The Eyes of the World Are Upon You by Jennifer Jolley, and Intrada 1631 (after Juan Pérez Bocanegra) by Stephen Montague. And last but certainly not least, this release contains the premiere of a new wind ensemble transcription of John Corigliano's Concerto for Clarinet and Wind Ensemble, with clarinet soloist Jonathan Gunn.

The repertoire on this new album was performed by the UTWE on their CBDNA National Conference Tour in March of 2017, and recorded in sessions at Bates Recital Hall, The University of Texas at Austin, and at Meyerson Symphony Center, in Dallas Texas concluding in August of 2017. The exciting performances were captured by the Reference Recordings engineering team, GRAMMY® award winner and multiple nominee Keith O. Johnson and multiple GRAMMY® nominee Sean R. Martin.

Since 1976, Reference Recordings has been one of the most innovative and respected independent labels in the music business. Founded on the premise that most commercial recordings sound nothing like the live performance experience, Reference Recordings releases have been highly praised for their dedication to high quality sound in the service of great music. Founder Tam Henderson (1998 GRAMMY® nominee for Producer of the Year), was joined in 1978 by engineer Keith O. Johnson. More than 150 projects later, RR is still recording what many consider to be the finest-sounding classical, jazz and blues albums in the world.


  • Stereo CD with Encoded HDCD
  • Recorded March 3 - August 12, 2017 at Bates Recital Hall, the University of Texas at Austin, TX & Meyerson Symphony Center, Dallas, TX
  • Recording Engineer: Keith O. Johnson
  • Recorded by Sean Royce Martin
  • Mastering Engineer: Sean Royce Martin
  • Deluxe Booklet
  • Liner Notes by Adam Schoenberg, John Corigliano, Jennifer Jolley & Stephen Montague
  • Made in USA


University of Texas Wind Ensemble
Jerry Junkin conductor
Jonathan Gunn clarinet solo (Concerto for Clarinet and Wind Ensemble)
Brian Lewis violin solo (Concerto for Clarinet and Wind Ensemble


Adam Schoenberg (b.1980)

Migration - Symphony No. 2 for Wind Ensemble
  1. Movement I: March
  2. Movement II: Dreaming
  3. Movement III: Escape
  4. Movement IV: Crossing
  5. Movement V: Beginning

John Corigliano (b.1938)

Concerto for Clarinet and Wind Ensemble
  1. Movement I: Candenzas
  2. Movement II: Elegy
  3. Movement III: Antiphonal Toccata

Jennifer Jolley (b.1981)

  1. The Eyes of the World Are Upon You

Stephen Montague (b.1943)

  1. Intrada 1631 (after Juan Pêrez Bocanegra)

Customers Also Like