The Desperadoes Steel Orchestra Vol. 1 The Legacy of Clive Bradley 2HDCD

The Desperadoes Steel Orchestra

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Click Here for Sound Samples!

24Bit HDCD Technology!

This collection contains five Panorama Classics and eight popular melodies including Barry White's "Let the Music Play" as well as "Love Is A Many Splendored Thing" and Celine Dion's "My Heart Will Go On".

Clive Bradley was an idiosyncratic, enigmatic, erratic but pragmatic musician and arranger who meandered mercurially through the corridors of life, leaving in his wake a contour not unlike that of the great Mississippi River. Bradley never played Pan, his instrument was the piano; yet he meticulously developed a synergistic relationship with the hypnotic, charismatic Desperadoes at the summit of Laventille that spawned a bitter-sweet saga spanning four decades. Together they earned acclaim and respect from the steelband fraternity of Trinidad & Tobago, the Diaspora and beyond, winning the coveted title of Panorama Champions on six ecstatic occasions.

"The Pacific Micronics High Definition Compatible Digital recording process HDCD was co-invented by well-known audio engineer Keith O. Johnson and computer software designer Michael Pflaumer. It utilizes a highly sophisticated encode/decode system that greatly reduces both additive and subtractive distortions, which are manifested during conventional digital recording and playback.

"The unprecedented sonic fidelity of the HDCD process has been achieved by first identifying the additive artifacts which tend to make reproduced music sound harsh, (irritating) and congested; as well as the subtractive ones which generate sterile and uninvolved sound, mainly as a result of inherent deficiencies in conventional encoding processes. The HDCD digital signal process cancels the additive distortions while simultaneously providing additional information which gives the listener important cues about the recording. This ensures that each listening experience is an event not easily forgotten.

"When an HDCD encoded signal is fed to conventional playback equipment the additional information is perceived as a clear improvement in fidelity. However, when that same signal is fed to an HDCD decoder, it is reconstructed as high-resolution, audibly superior sound of a quality previously associated solely with first-generation analogue master tapes and direct microphone feeds. This technology literally allows recordings to captivate the attention of the listener to the extent where one feels that one is part of the original performance."
- Simeon L. Sandiford, 1999

• 24Bit HDCD technology
• Made in the USA

CD A - Grooving the Panorama Classics:
1. Ah Goin' An' Party Tonight (1982) - Clive Bradley
2. Rebecca (1983) - Autin 'Super Blue' Lyons
3. The Jammer (1984) - Winsford 'Joker' Des Vignes
4. In My House (1999) - Emmanuel 'Oba' Synette
5. Picture On My Wall (2000) - Emmanuel 'Oba' Synette
CD B - Popular Melodies:
1. Let the Music Play (Barry White)
2. Love Is A Many Splendored Thing (Sammy Fain)
3. Don't Cry For Me Argentina (Andrew Lloyd Webber)
4. Love In the Cemetery (Aldwin Roberts - Lord Kitchener)
5. MacArthur Park (Jimmy Webb)
6. My Heart Will Go On (Celine Dion)
7. This Melody Sweet (Winsford des Vignes)
8. When Will I See You Again (Kenneth & Leon Gamble, Leon Huff)

Customers Also Like