Genre: Pop Rock
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


The Grateful Dead Dick's Picks Vol. 26 (4/26/69 & 4/27/69) Hand-Numbered Limited Edition 180 4LP Box Set

The Grateful Dead

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Hand-Numbered, Limited Edition 180g 4LP Box Set - Only 1500 Copies Pressed!
Mastered From The Original Tapes by Jeffrey Norman at Mockingbird Mastering!
Lacquers Cut by Jeff Powell!
Pressed at Furnace Record Pressing!

Having surveyed the Seventies with their first two vinyl ventures (Dick's Picks Vols. 24 & 34) into the Grateful Dead catalog, Real Gone Music really wanted to travel back to the band's Sixties beginnings for their next multi-LP magnum opus...and boy, did they "pick" the right shows!

Recorded but a few months after the shows that formed Live Dead, and featuring a spellbinding version of the "Dark Star"/"St. Stephen"/"The Eleven" medley that was that album's centerpiece, Dick's Picks Vol. 26 stands as a worthy counterpoint to what is one of the greatest "official" live albums in rock 'n' roll history. Add in the fact it also captures the band working on material for the forthcoming album Aoxomoxoa - including an incredible version of "Mountains Of The Moon" - and serves up a real live Dead rarity with a rendition of Jimmy Reed's "I Know It's a Sin", and this is a Pick that's clearly worthy, one, of coming out on vinyl, and, two, of some special treatment when it does! Which is a challenge Real Gone Music relished; so, in addition to re-printing Bear's notes from the original CD release on the LP insert, they enlisted Bear's son Starfinder Stanley to provide some added context on behalf of the Owsley Stanley Foundation, from whence the tapes for these shows come.

And speaking of those tapes, this 4-LP set is mastered for vinyl by Jeffrey Norman at Mockingbird Mastering, with lacquers cut by Jeff Powell, who got his start at Memphis' legendary Ardent Studios and has worked with everybody from Bob Dylan to Gregg Allman to Irma Thomas. Pressed on 180-gram vinyl at Furnace Record Pressing, the whisper-quiet test pressings were approved by engineer Jeffrey Norman, Dead archivist David Lemieux, and Real Gone's own Gordon Anderson, so the audio experience that awaits is truly a cut above. As for the packaging, each of the four LPs is housed inside a polyvinyl sleeve carefully nestled (with extra padding!) inside a two-piece hardshell box with insert.

Real Gone are only pressing 1500 hand-numbered copies of Dick's Picks Vol. 26; if prior experience is any guide, they will not last long!


  • Hand-Numbered, Limited Edition - 1500 copies
  • 4LP Box Set
  • 180g Vinyl
  • Recorded by Owsley "Bear" Stanley
  • Mastered for vinyl from the original tapes by Jeffrey Norman at Mockingbird Mastering
  • Lacquer cutting by Jeff Powell at Take Out Vinyl
  • Pressed at Furnace Record Pressing
  • Polyvinyl sleeves
  • 2-piece hardshell box
  • Insert
  • Special note from Bear's son, Starfinder Stanley


Side One:

  1. Dupree's Diamond Blues
  2. Mountains Of The Moon
  3. China Cat Sunflower

Side Two:

  1. Doin' That Rag
  2. Cryptical Envelopment
  3. The Other One

Side Three:

  1. The Eleven
  2. The Other One
  3. I Know It's A Sin

Side Four:

  1. Turn On Your Lovelight

Side Five

  1. Me And My Uncle
  2. Sitting On Top Of The World
  3. Dark Star

Side Six:

  1. Dark Star (cont.)
  2. St. Stephen

Side Seven:

  1. The Eleven
  2. Turn On Your Lovelight

Side Eight:

  1. Turn On Your Lovelight (cont.)
  2. Morning Dew