The Headhunters Straight From The Gate 180g Import LP

The Headhunters

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
180g Audiophile Vinyl LP!

The Headhunters' Straight From The Gate was their second album and was released in 1977. Originally started as a jazz-fusion band fronted by Herbie Hancock, remaining members Paul Jackson, Bennie Maupin, Michael Clark, Paul Potyen, Derrick Youman and Obsidion Blackbiyrd delved further into jazz-rock and fusion sounds and recorded the album at The Automatt studios in San Francisco.

The Headhunters use a wide range of instruments. From the electric piano, to tenor and soprano saxophone, flute, sitar, electric and acoustic guitar as well as adopting an early ARP synthesizer. Their music is certainly a blend of many styles and genres, including R&B, funk and African rhythms and it is widely accepted that The Headhunters made their mark on the "serious" jazz scene.

• 180g Audiophile Vinyl
• Import

Bennie Maupin, tenor and soprano saxophones, bass clarinet, flute, vocals
Paul Jackson, bass, background vocals
Michael Clark, drums
Obsidion Blackbiyrd (De Wayne McKnight), electric and acoustic guitars, electric sitar, background vocals
Paul Potyen, piano, electric piano, clavinet, ARP Odyssey, ARP String Ensemble, organ, background vocals
Derrick Youman, lead vocals
Bill Summers, percussion

Side One:

1. Straight From The Gate
2. Mayonnaise
3. Ms. Yum Yum
4. Don't Kill Our Feelings
Side Two:
1. Descending Azzizziuh (The Beginning Of A Dream)
2. I Remember I Made You Cry
3. Pork Soda
4. Dreams
5. Silhouette

Customers Also Like