Genre: Pop Rock
Size: 12"
Additional Artists: Jeff Lynne
Format: 33RPM,


The Idle Race Schizophrenic Psychedelia Numbered Limited Edition 180g LP (Clear Vinyl) (Mono & Stereo)

The Idle Race

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Strict One Time Pressing! Very Limited Quantities! Order Now Or Miss Out!
Numbered, Limited Edition 180g Clear Vinyl!

The Idle Race were a British rock group from Birmingham in the late 1960s and early 1970s who garnered a cult following but never enjoyed mass commercial success. In addition to being the springboard for Jeff Lynne's career, the band holds a place of significance in British pop-rock history as a link between The Move, Electric Light Orchestra, The Steve Gibbons Band and Mike Sheridan & The Nightriders.

The band was initially formed in 1959 under the name of Billy King and The Nightriders; and consisted of core-members rhythm guitarist Dave Pritchard and drummer Roger Spencer, along with vocalist Billy King, bassist Brian Cope, and lead guitarist Al Johnson. In 1962, King departed and was replaced by Mike Tyler who changed his name to Sheridan and this change coincided with the band's rise and gaining a record deal with EMI in 1964. Around this time Cope was replaced by Greg Masters and Johnson by lead guitarist, Roy Wood. Wood who went on to find greater success in subsequent bands, had his first commercially released composition, "Make Them Understand", with the Nightriders in 1965. By 1965 Wood formed the Move and the band started touring by 1966. Johnny Mann was eventually replaced by Jeff Lynne--who at the time was an unknown guitar prodigy from Birmingham. They released one single in 1966 on Polydor--"It's Only The Dog/Your Friend" featuring Lynne on lead guitar. Eager to showcase Lynne's vocal and guitar skills as well as his growing cache of catchy Beatlesque songs and wishing to embrace the psychedelic movement of the time, the group changed its name, first to The Idyll Race and then The Idle Race. Roy Wood, who had become a star as The Move became a successful chart act, helped arrange a partnership with producers Eddie Offord and Gerald Chevin for The Idle Race. In 1967, the band was the first major signing by the new British arm of Liberty Records. Only their first single (not issued in the UK) and their first album got released in the US on Liberty.

The band was well received by the press for their melodies, whimsical lyrics and inventive production. They often appeared live in performance with such bands as The Spencer Davis Group, The Who, The Small Face, Pink Floyd, The Moody Blues, Status Quo, Tyrannosaurus Rex, Yes and Free. BBC disc jockeys such as John Peel and Kenny Everett were big champions of the group. Despite critical respect and famous admirers such as The Beatles and Marc Bolan, The Idle Race failed to catch fire with the public. After suffering through bad luck that sabotaged their efforts in releasing singles "Here We Go 'Round The Lemon Tree", "The Skeleton and the Roundabout" and "The End Of The Road", the band splintered, leaving in their wake several of the quirkiest and most distinctive pop records of the psychedelic era.


  • Strict One Time Pressing based on preorders received - 1,953 Copies Worldwide
  • Numbered, Limited Edition
  • 180g Vinyl
  • Clear Vinyl
  • Mastered for vinyl by Jeff Powell at Take out Vinyl, Memphis, TN & Pete Weiss at Verdant Studios, Athens, VT
  • Lacquers cut by Jeff Powell at Sam Phillips Recording Studio
  • Pressed at Record Industry in the Netherlands
  • Single pocket tip-on jacket
  • New artwork & liner notes
  • Contains mono and stereo tracks
  • Contains two alternate takes
  • Made in the EU


Side One:

  1. (Here We Go) Round The Lemon Tree (Mono)
  2. My Father's Son (Mono)
  3. Impostors Of Life's Magazine (Mono)
  4. Sitting In My Tree (Mono)
  5. The Skeleton And The Roundabout (Stereo)
  6. Knocking Nails Into My House (Mono)
  7. End Of The Road (Stereo)
  8. Morning Sunshine (Stereo)
  9. Days Of Broken Arrows (Mono)

Side Two:

  1. Worn Red Carpet (Mono)
  2. Neanderthal Man (Mono)
  3. Victim Of Circumstance (Mono)
  4. In The Summertime (Stereo)
  5. Told You Twice (Stereo)
  6. Lucky Man (Alternate Version that first appeared on Back To The Story) [Mono]
  7. Follow Me (Alternate Version that first appeared on Back To The Story) [Mono]

Customers Also Like