Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Universal
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


The Jayhawks Sound of Lies 180g 2LP

The Jayhawks

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
180g Vinyl Double LP Reissue! Plated & Pressed at QRP!
Features Remastered Audio, New Liner Notes, & Photos!

This item not eligible for any further discount offers!

Sound of Lies is a 1997 album released by Minneapolis music group Jayhawks. Following Mark Olson's amicable departure, the remaining Jayhawks reconvened under the direction of Gary Louris to record Sound of Lies, the band's most ambitious album to date. Like Wilco's Being There, Sound of Lies uses country-rock as a foundation and wanders off into a variety of different sonic territories, including surf rock and Beatlesque pop, bringing the music closer to the sound of adult alternative pop/rock.

Although the surface of the album is pleasant and melodic, Louris has written a uniformly harrowing set of songs, inspired both by the dissolution of his partnership with Olson and a recent divorce. The lyrics have a naked, emotional honesty which would have been more affecting if the music echoed its sentiment, yet the record still has a subtle grace and power, proving that the Jayhawks remain a distinctive band without Olson.

This remastered edition includes bonus tracks, new liner notes and expanded booklets. All of the original tracks were remastered in April 2014 by renowned mastering engineer Vic Anesini at Battery Studios in NYC using original analog sources when possible.


• 180g Vinyl
• Double LP
• Pressed at Quality Record Pressings
• Remastered from Original Analog Sources when possible
• New Liner Notes
• New Photos
• Includes 5 bonus tracks, 3 previously unreleased

LP 1 - Side 1:

1. The Man Who Loved Life
2. Think About It
3. Trouble
4. It’s Up To You
LP 1 - Side 2:
1. Stick In The Mud
2. Big Star
3. Poor Little Fish
4. Sixteen Down

LP 2 - Side 3:
1. Haywire
2. Dying On The Vine
3. Bottomless Cup
4. Sound Of Lies
LP 2 - Side 4:
Bonus Tracks

1. I Hear You Cry
2. Sleepyhead
3. Kirby’s Tune (Studio Outtake)
4. It’s Up To You (Alternate Version)
5. Sound of Lies (Rough Mix)

Customers Also Like