Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Universal
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


The Jayhawks Smile 180g 2LP

The Jayhawks

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
180g Vinyl Double LP Reissue! Plated & Pressed at QRP!
Features Remastered Audio, New Liner Notes, & Photos!

This item not eligible for any further discount offers!

Smile is an album by the American alt-country and alt-rock band The Jayhawks, released in 2000. It reached #129 on the Billboard 200 and #14 on Billboard's Top Internet Albums chart. With Smile, the Jayhawks drop yet another sizable chunk of their alt-country sound by the roadside, adding in its place healthy doses of power pop and modern electronic music. Almost half of Smile's songs feature looped percussion, overdubbed drum tracks, or flat-out, funky backbeats. Despite the modern touches, though, the fact remains that Smile retains just enough of a distinctly Americana feeling.

On the warm and twangy "Better Days," one of Louris' best songs, he sings with genuine regret and heartache the way he treated a long ago lover, and on "Break in the Clouds" he celebrates the comforts of domestic contentment, complete with pedal steel and soaring harmonies that recall the band's landmark work Hollywood Town Hall from 1992. What never changes on the Jayhawks' albums, it seems, are the blissful melodies and well-constructed tunes. This remastered edition includes bonus tracks.

All of the original tracks were remastered in April 2014 by renowned mastering engineer Vic Anesini at Battery Studios in NYC using original analog sources when possible. Features bonus tracks, fresh artwork and new liner notes.

• 180g Vinyl
• Double LP
• Pressed at Quality Record Pressings
• Remastered from Original Analog Sources when possible
• New Liner Notes by Bob Ezrin
• New Photos
• Includes 6 bonus tracks, 5 previously unreleased

LP 1 - Side 1:

1. Smile
2. I’m Gonna Make You Love Me
3. What Led Me To This Town
4. Somewhere in Ohio
LP 1 - Side 2:
1. A Break in the Clouds
2. Queen of the World
3. Life Floats By
4. Broken Harpoon
5. Pretty Thing

LP 2 - Side 3:
1. Mr. Wilson
2. (In My) Wildest Dreams
3. Better Days
4. Baby, Baby, Baby
LP 2 - Side 4:
Bonus Tracks

1. Who Made You King
2. Gypsy in the Mood
3. A Part of You (Demo)
4. Life's Little Ups and Downs (Live)
5. Greta Garbo (Demo)
6. Five Cornered Blues (Demo)

Customers Also Like