The Jimi Hendrix Experience Are You Experienced Hybrid Stereo/Mono SACD

The Jimi Hendrix Experience

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

TAS Rated 5/5 Music, 5/5 Sonics in the April 2021 Issue of The Absolute Sound!

Are You Experienced on Hybrid SACD!
Newly Remastered From Original Analog Master Tapes by Bernie Grundman!
Includes Both Mono & Stereo Mixes - Pure DSD Sound!

Rolling Stone 500 Greatest Albums of All Time - Rated 30/500!

This item not eligible for any further discount offers!

Analogue Productions presents the SACDs Jimi Hendrix fans have asked for: Hybrid SACDs of both Axis: Bold As Love, as well as Are You Experienced, the 1967 debut full-length studio release by the Jimi Hendrix Experience. Newly remastered by Bernie Grundman from the original analog master tapes, each disc contains the mono and stereo mixes for each of these historic albums. This is pure DSD sound to applaud!

When first released in 1967 in the U.S., Are You Experienced turned the music world upside down as Hendrix showed everyone exactly what it meant to be "experienced." This SACD returns to the original 11-song version that was originally released in August 1967. It contains such eternal classics as "Hey Joe", "Purple Haze", "The Wind Cries Mary", "Fire" and the title song, whose backward drum and guitar tracks and otherworldly guitar work still sound innovative almost a half-century later.

As Rolling Stone states, Jimi Hendrix was the most innovative instrumental genius the rock era produced, a wizard guitar player whose sense of technique never overwhelmed the blues and rock 'n' roll spirit that was the underpinning of his genius. He improvised with the fervor of a born jazzman; he philosophized like the most cosmic rocker, but ultimately his basics were rooted in soul, a reflection of the chitlin circuit, where he cut his teeth.

With the possible exception of Cream, The Jimi Hendrix Experience was debatably the world's finest-ever power trio. Axis and Are You Experienced showcased the grasp that Jimi and his cohorts - Mitch Mitchell on drums and Noel Redding on bass - had on the studio technology at their disposal, and the lyrical beauty of Hendrix's guitar playing.

Newly remastered by Bernie Grundman from the original analog master tapes, the much-anticipated hybrid SACD has a 36-page booklet, and both stereo and mono mixes. This gem brilliantly captures the detailed layers of Hendrix's mind-bending soundscapes. Are You Experienced in pure DSD (or high-def PCM, depending on your system)? It doesn't get any better.
-Greg Cahill, The Absolute Sound, April 2021, Music 5/5, Sonics 5/5


  • Super Audio CD
  • SACD Layer includes the Original Stereo & Mono Mixes
  • This Hybrid SACD contains a 'Red Book' Stereo CD Layer which is playable on most conventional CD Players!
  • CD Layer contains Stereo Mix only
  • 36-page booklet
  • The Authorized Hendrix Family Edition
  • Disc made in Germany
  • Packaged in USA


  1. Purple Haze
  2. Manic Depression
  3. Hey Joe
  4. Love Or Confusion
  5. May This Be Love
  6. I Don't Live Today
  7. The Wind Cries Mary
  8. Fire
  9. Third Stone From The Sun
  10. Foxey Lady
  11. Are You Experienced?

Customers Also Like