Genre: Jazz
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


The John Hicks Trio I'll Give You Something to Remember Me By... 180g LP (White Vinyl)

The John Hicks Trio

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Limited Edition 180g White Vinyl LP!
Rare Jazz Classic from 1988 Features an All-Star Lineup!
First Ever Vinyl Reissue & First Release in the UK & North America!
Light in the Attic Exclusive Color Variant Limited to 100 Copies!

In the late 1980s, the renowned American jazz pianist, composer, and arranger John Hicks formed one of the most influential ensembles out of musicians that had played music at the highest level all their lives and gained their status as both stand-alone artists and important sidemen. Each of them had participated in many of jazz's great moments and all shared the ability, documented on many albums, to inspire their fellow musicians to even greater heights. The John Hicks Trio had several line-up changes over the years that included greats such as Clifford Barbaro (Strata East, Blue Note, Sun Ra Arkestra, Charles Tolliver), Clint Houston (Prestige, Nina Simone, Roy Ayers, Azar Lawrence), Ray Drummond (Freddie Hubbard, Art Blakey, Lalo Schifrin), Marcus McLaurine (Muse, Verve, Weldon Irvine, Kool & The Gang) and Victor Lewis (Steve Grossman, Stan Getz, Charles Mingus, Cedar Walton, Chet Baker).

On the 1988 album I'll Give You Something To Remember Me By, the trio consists of some of the biggest and best players in the jazz, funk and soul scenes:

On piano is the Atlanta based trio's bandleader John Hicks (1941-2006). He served as a leader on more than 30 albums and played as a sideman on more than 300 other recordings. After being taught piano by his mother, Hicks went on to study at Lincoln University of Missouri, Berklee College of Music, and the Julliard School. After playing with a number of different artists during the early '60s (including Oliver Nelson and being part of Pharoah Sanders's first band) he joined Art Blakey & The Jazz Messengers in 1964. In the early '70s he taught jazz history and improvisation at Southern Illinois University before resuming his career as a recording artist. Next to his many solo recordings for labels such as Strata East and Concord, Hicks would collaborate with all the big names in the scene, including Archie Shepp, Mingus and Alvin Queen. In 2014 & 2015, J Dilla paid homage to John Hicks by sampling two of his songs.

On drums is the legendary Idris Muhammad (1939-2014) who to this day is still considered one of the most influential drummers covering a multitude of genre-transcending styles. Born in New Orleans, he showed early talent as a percussionist and began his professional career while still a teenager, playing on Fats Domino's "Blueberry Hill." He then toured with Sam Cooke and would later go on to work with Curtis Mayfield. Next to his landmark solo recordings for Prestige Records, Idris would collaborate with iconic musicians and acts from the likes of Manu Dibango, Ahmad Jamal, Melvin Sparks, Charles Earland, Walter Bishop, Ceasar Frazier, Roberta Flack, Gato Barbieri, Nathan Davis, Sonny Rollins, Lou Donaldson, Galt MacDermot, Lonnie Smith…and countless others. Idris Muhammad's work was sampled by renowned performers such as Drake, Beastie Boys and Fatboy Slim.

On bass is Curtis Lundy (born 1955) who originates from Florida. Lundy is a well-respected bass player (and a master of his instrument), choir director, arranger, composer and producer who was part of performances and recordings of renowned acts and artists such as Pharoah Sanders, Frank Morgan, Cole Porter, Chico Freeman, Khan Jamal… and many others!

On I'll Give You Something To Remember Me By (recorded at the legendary Dutch Studio 44 in March 1987 and released on Limetree Records in 1988) the listener is treated to eight majestic tracks of the highest caliber (including an excellent Thelonious Monk cover-tune) and features a remarkable outing of advanced musicianship by three jazz-giants in their prime, delivering an inspirational gem of an album.

These recordings sound as successful, young and vibrant as ever! Expect supercharged ragtime Post Bop with striking notes, no-holds-barred musicianship, high swinging solos, screaming choruses and plenty of solid virtuosity to spare. The up tempo none stop Latin beat is complimented by the terrific drum solos of Idris Muhammad and the rhythmic bass stokes of Curtis Lundy. This electrifying set of tracks makes this release a bonafide hit and a must have for any self-respecting jazz fan or collector.

Tidal Waves Music now proudly presents the FIRST ever vinyl reissue of this classic jazz album (originally released in 1988). This reissue comes as a deluxe 180g white vinyl edition (strictly limited to 100 copies worldwide) with obi strip…also present are the exclusive pictures shot by legendary Dutch photographer Frans Schellekens (known for his work with artists such as Chet Baker, Alice Coltrane, Freddie Hubbard and Sonny Rollins). This will also be the first time the album is released in North America and in the UK.


  • Limited Edition - 100 Copies
  • Light in the Attic Exclusive Color Variant
  • 180g Vinyl
  • White Vinyl
  • First Ever Vinyl Reissue
  • Released for the First Time in the UK & North America
  • OBI Strip
  • Exclusive Photos by Legendary Dutch Photographer Frans Schellekens


John Hicks piano
Curtis Lundy bass
Idris Muhammad drums


Side A:

  1. Hold It Down
  2. Pas De Trois
  3. Monk's Mood
  4. I Didn't Know What Time It Was

Side B:

  1. Airegin
  2. My Foolish Heart
  3. Blue in Green
  4. Coral Keys

Customers Also Like