Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Sanctuary
Size: 7"
Format: 45RPM,


The Kinks Lola Versus Powerman And The Moneygoround Part One Deluxe 3CD & 2 7" Vinyl Box Set

The Kinks

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

50th Anniversary Limited Edition 3CD & 2 7" Vinyl Deluxe Box Set!
All Audio Newly Remastered! Curated by Ray Davies!
Limited To 3000 Copies In North America!

Lola Versus Powerman And The Moneygoround, Part One is the eighth studio album by The Kinks, one of the most influential rock acts of all time, and was recorded and released in 1970. A concept album, it is a satirical appraisal of the music industry, including song publishers, unions, the press, accountants, business managers, and life on the road.

Although it appeared during a transitional period for the Kinks, Lola Versus Powerman was a success both critically and commercially for the group, charting in the Top 40 in America and helping restore them in the public eye, making it a "comeback" album. It contained two hit singles: "Lola", which reached the #9 US, #2 UK and Germany - becoming the Kinks' biggest success since "Sunny Afternoon" in 1966 - and "Apeman", which peaked at #5 in the UK and Germany. The track "Lola", written by Ray Davies, allegedly details a romantic encounter between a young man and a possible trans-gender person whom he meets in a club in Soho, London.

This set is a limited edition, lavishly packaged, 50th anniversary deluxe 10" book-pack of that album, containing many previously unreleased tracks and versions. Produced in association with The Kinks, with audio and visual content curated by Ray Davies. Matte laminated rigid slipcase featuring the original LP cover reproduced with foil and metallic silver finishes.


  • 50th Anniversary
  • Deluxe Box Set
  • Limited To 3000 Copies in North America
  • 3 CD
  • Original album remastered from original HD master tapes
  • Singles (stereo & mono mixes)
  • B-sides
  • Alternate original mixes
  • New medleys with Ray & Dave Davies spoken word commentary
  • New Ray Davies remixes & original session outtakes
  • Previously unreleased session & live tape audio
  • Instrumental & acoustic versions
  • Previously unreleased demos & BBC material
  • 7" Vinyl single: "Lola" b/w "Berkerley Mews" original Italian picture sleeve (Pye Records - P 67.023)
  • 7" Vinyl single: "Apeman" (alternate audio version) b/w "Rats" original Portuguese picture sleeve (Pye Records - PATS 7010)
  • Vinyl singles have reproduced artwork, remastered audio, black vinyl
  • Deluxe 60 page, gloss-art hardback book with extensive notes, new band quotes, rare photos & Ray Davies' "1970 Diary"
  • 4x 5" square art cards, full band shots
  • Matte laminated rigid slipcase featuring the original LP cover reproduced with foil & metallic silver finishes
  • Made In Czech Republic


CD 1

  1. The Contenders
  2. Strangers
  3. Denmark Street
  4. Get Back In Line
  5. Lola
  6. Top Of The Pops
  7. The Moneygoround
  8. This Time Tomorrow
  9. A Long Way From Home
  10. Rats
  11. Apeman
  12. Powerman
  13. Got To Be Free
Alternate Versions
  1. Lola (Mono Single Mix)
  2. Apeman (UK Mono Single Mix)
  3. Rats (Mono Single Mix)
  4. Powerman (Mono Mix)
  5. Apeman (Alternate Version, Stereo)
  6. The Moneygoround (Altenate Version, Mono)

CD 2

Alternate Versions / New Medleys & Mixes / Demos / Film Soundtrack
  1. This Time Tomorrow (Alternate Take, 2020 Mix)
  2. Top Of The Pops (2020 Mix)
  3. Lola/Radio Spot, Edit (Ray's Kitchen Sink)
  4. Got To Be Free (Ray's Kitchen Sink)
  5. The Contenders (Ray's Kitchen Sink)
  6. The Good Life (2020 Mix)
  7. Apeman (Unplugged Live Version)
  8. Get Back In Line (Live Version)
  9. Marathon (Edit, from "The Long Distance Piano Player")
  10. Got To Be Free (Edit, from "The Long Distance Piano Player")
  11. Lola (Ray Davies & Band with The Danish National Chamber Orchestra & The Danish National Vocal Ensemble)
  12. The Good Life (2012 Alternate Mix)
  13. Apeman (US Mono Single Mix)
  14. Moments (2020 Mix)
  15. This Time Tomorrow & Cassette Demos Medley (Ray's Kitchen Sink)

CD 3

Alternate Versions / New Medleys & Mixes / Demos / Live
  1. Get Back In Line (Ray's Kitchen Sink)
  2. Rats (Ray's Kitchen Sink)
  3. Rats (2020 Mix)
  4. Powerman (Ray's Kitchen Sink)
  5. Powerman (2020 Mix)
  6. The Contenders (Instrumental Demo)
  7. Anytime
  8. A Long Way From Home (Ray's Kitchen Sink)
  9. A Long Way From Home (Live, Austin City Limits, 2006)
  10. Strangers (Ray's Kitchen Sink)
  11. Strangers (2020 Stereo Mix)
  12. The Way Love Used To Be (2020 Monitor Mix)
  13. Apeman (Morgan Studios Run-Through)
  14. Radio Spot/Live, Queens College, Flushing, NY, 1971
  15. The Follower - Anytime 2020 (featuring Anytime by The Kinks)

7" Vinyl Single

Side A:
  1. Lola
Side B:
  1. Berkerley Mews

7" Vinyl Single

Side A:
  1. Apeman
Side B:
  1. Rats

Customers Also Like