Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Sanctuary
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


The Kinks The Kink Kontroversy 180g LP

The Kinks

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
180g Vinyl Reissue of 1965 Album!
Remastered by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Mastering From Original Master Tapes!

The Kink Kontroversy was the third album by The Kinks, released in 1965. True to form, with all Kink albums from 1965 to 1971, this release is a stunning creation. This album is a transitional work, with elements of both the earlier Kinks' styles (heavily blues-influenced songs such as "Milk Cow Blues," and variations on the band's hits from 1964-65 such as "Till the End of the Day") and early indications of the future direction of Ray Davies’ songwriting styles ("The World Keeps Going Round" and "I'm On An Island").

One of the singles recorded during 1965, “Till The End of The Day” has one of those Dave Davies thunder chords, which littered all the hits for The Kinks during their early years, a marvellous song which delivers what you would expect it to effortlessly. The B-Side can also be found on this LP, “Where Have All The Good Times Gone” is just fabulous.

"The Kinks came into their own as album artists -- and Ray Davies fully matured as a songwriter -- with The Kink Kontroversy, which bridged their raw early British Invasion sound with more sophisticated lyrics and thoughtful production." -Richie Unterberger,

"...Producer Shel Talmy was never known for deep pocket spending on record production or anything more than straight forward getting the tune on tape and getting out and for the longest time I thought of these as “el cheapo” productions with not much sonically to recommend but over time that view has changed especially with these new re-masters by Kevin Gray from the original Pye mono tapes (this album was never mixed to stereo though there are original fake stereo versions issued by both Pye and in America by Reprise—stay away from those!).

"I compared this reissue to an original UK red label Pye mono pressing and to an early 1990’s gray mono Pye pressing. The earlier pressings sound similar. The new cut by Kevin Gray is much better! There’s no doubt about it. It’s far more transparent, spacious and harmonically complete. The bottom end is both more extended and more detailed. On the opening track drummer Mick Avory does some speedy kick drum double time that I’d not before heard so deeply and cleanly rendered.

"More importantly, I’d always thought of this album as “okay sounding” but it’s much better than that on this reissue. First play “Fancy” and you’ll hear what I’m talking about.

"The Kinks Katalog has been messed up since forever, with a slew of reissues and hits compilations sourced from who knows what? Now we have a chance to get them all, cut by one of the great mastering engineers working today, sourced from the original master tapes and well-pressed too.

"For Kinks fans, this is it. Who knows how long these will remain in print. I’m buying them all!'
- Michael Fremer, Analog Planet, June 16, 2015

• 180g Vinyl
• Remastered by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Mastering
• Remastered from original master tapes

Side One:

1. Milk Cow Blues
2. Ring the Bells
3. Gotta Get the First Plane Home
4. When I See That Girl of Mine
5. I Am Free
6. Till the End of The Day
Side Two:
1. The World Keeps Going Round
2. I'm On An Island
3. Where Have All the Good Times Gone
4. It's Too Late
5. What's In Store For Me
6. You Can't Win

Customers Also Like