The Lars Erstrand Trio & Quartet The Complete Songs Hybrid Multi-Channel & Stereo SACD

The Lars Erstrand Trio & Quartet

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
The trio comprises, besides Lars himself, one of Sweden's absolutely best new jazz pianist, Jan Lundgren. On double bass is another of Sweden's most sought after musicians, Hans Backenroth. On drums we have Leif îGusî Dahlberg who has been playing with Lars Erstrand on several other Opus 3 albums.

As soloists we have the pleasure to present Antii Sarpila from Finland on tenor and soprano saxophone on 3 tracks, Bertil Fernqvist on electric guitar on 2 tracks and finally Lasse Törnqvist on cornet, also on 2 tracks.

To Quote Lars:
Perhaps the most important thing I have learned in my 50 years of playing, as a vibraphonist is the awareness of the enormous quality and variety of the songs composed in what is commonly called 'îThe Great Swing Era.

For more than 30 years I had the privilege and pleasure of playing with the outstanding Swedish clarinettist Ove Lind, whose life ended at all too early an age. One of the things about Ove was his enormous repertoire, not only of the songs but also the verses, which were so very often not recorded at this time. He maintained that a song is not really complete without the verse and I, and many other musicians, really agree that he has a point.

A verse is like a prologue, where the words of the lyrics give background to the story, which is the main theme of the chorus. Musically it can be a separate entity in itself and comprise a further composition of beauty.

This is the 2nd pure Opus 3 DSD recording on Super Audio CD in multichannel/surround sound format.

• Super Audio CD
• SACD Multi-Channel SACD Layer
• SACD Stereo SACD Layer
• This Hybrid SACD contains a 'Red Book' Stereo CD Layer which is playable on most conventional CD Players!

1. A Nightingale Sang in Berkeley Square
2. Let Me Call You Sweetheart
3. Life Can Be So Sweet
4. A Hundred Years From Today
5. 'S Wonderful, Ah! Sweet Mystery of Life
6. Then I'll Be Tired of You, Song of Songs
7. For You
8. For Me
9. For Ever More
10. Tea For Two
11. On The Sunny Side of the Street