Genre: Soundtrack
Label: Rhino
Composer: Howard Shore
Format: 33RPM,


The Lord of The Rings: The Return of The King - The Complete Recordings Numbered Limited Edition 180g 6LP (Green Vinyl)

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Numbered, Limited Edition 180g Green Vinyl 6LP Collector's Box Set!
Entire Award-Winning Score On Vinyl For The First Time!

THE LORD OF THE RINGS: THE RETURN OF THE KING: THE COMPLETE RECORDINGS is released on vinyl for the first time as a 6-LP boxed set. Housed in a collector’s box with a green leather-style spine, the collection is limited to 8,000 individually numbered copies on green vinyl. Artists include Renee Fleming, Ben del Maestro, Sir James Galway and more. The set come with extensive liner notes from author Doug Adams, who analyzes many of the themes and motifs used throughout the score.

The music for all three films was composed, orchestrated and conducted by Howard Shore. The music he wrote for The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King was performed by the London Philharmonic Orchestra with contributions from the choirs: The London Voices and The London Oratory School Schola Boys Choir.

The album was certified gold in the U.S. and the U.K. and won two Academy Awards® for Best Original Score and for Best Original Song with "Into the West" performed by Annie Lennox; two Golden Globe Awards® for Best Original Score and Song; and two Grammy Awards® for Best Score Soundtrack Album and Song Written for a Motion Picture.

THE LORD OF THE RINGS: THE RETURN OF THE KING: THE COMPLETE RECORDINGS is the third in a series of three releases that also includes The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring (2001) and The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers (2002).

"There's probably never been as ambitious a film score as Howard Shore's 10-hour epic for the 'Lord of the Rings' series... the music is rich and complex, drawing on a vast range of styles and exotic instruments to evoke J.R.R. Tolkien's world of elves, hobbits and warlocks. But it's more than just background music: Shore uses an elaborate leitmotif technique (where musical themes are associated with specific characters or ideas, and are developed across the entire series) to hold the sprawling tale together. Lush, beautiful and full of intriguing surprises, it's no wonder that it's become one of the most popular film scores ever written." - Stephen Brookes, Washington Post, May 2008

• Numbered, Limited Edition - 8000 copies
• 180g Vinyl
• Green Vinyl
• 6LP Set
• Deluxe Collector's Box with Green Leather-style spine and limited edition number gold stamped on the back
• Deluxe Booklet
• Middle-earth Map - Part III
• Extensive liner notes from author Doug Adams
• Entire score on vinyl for the first time
• Music composed, orchestrated and conducted by Howard Shore
• Includes Academy Award, Golden Globe Award & GRAMMY Award-winning song "Into The West" performed by Annie Lennox
• Performances by Sir James Galway and Renee Fleming

LP 1
Side A:

1. Roots And Beginnings
2. Journey To The Cross-roads
3. The Road To Isengard
4. The Foot Of Orthanc
5. Return To Edoras
6. The Chalice Passed
7. The Green Dragon (feat. Billy Boyd and Dominic Monaghan)
Side B:
1. Gollum's Villainy
2. Eowyn's Dream
3. The Palantir
4. Flight From Edoras
5. The Grace Of Undomiel (feat. Renee Fleming)
6. The Eyes Of The White Tower
LP 2
Side C:

1. A Coronal Of Silver And Gold
2. The Lighting Of The Beacons
Side D:
1. Osgiliath Invaded (feat. Ben Del Maestro)
2. The Stairs Of Cirith Ungol
3. Allegiance To Denethor
4. The Sacrifice Of Faramir (feat. Billy Boyd performing "The Edge Of Night")
LP 3
Side E:

1. The Parting Of Sam And Frodo
2. Marshalling At Dunharrow
3. Anduril - Flame Of The West
4. The Passing Of The Grey Company
Side F:
1. Dwimorberg - The Haunted Mountain
2. Master Meriadoc, Swordthain
3. The Paths Of The Dead
4. The Siege Of Gondor
LP 4
Side G:

1. Shelob's Lair
2. Merry's Simple Courage
3. Grond - The Hammer Of The Underworld
4. Shelob The Great
Side H:
1. The Tomb Of The Stewards
2. The Battle Of The Pelennor Fields
3. The Pyre Of Denethor
4. The Mumakil
5. Dernhelm In Battle
6. "A Far Green Country"
7. Shieldmaiden Of Rohan
LP 5
Side I:

1. The Passing Of Theoden
2. The Houses Of Healing (feat. Liv Tyler)
3. The Tower Of Cirith Ungol
4. The Last Debate (feat. Sissel performing "Asea Aranion")
5. The Land Of Shadow
Side J:
1. The Mouth Of Sauron (feat. Sir James Galway)
2. For Frodo (feat. Ben Del Maestro)
3. Mount Doom (feat. Renee Fleming)
4. The Crack Of Doom
5. The Eagles (feat. Renee Fleming)
LP 6
Side K:

1. The Fellowship Reunited (feat. Sir James Galway, Viggo Mortensen, and Renee Fleming)
2. The Journey To The Grey Havens (feat. Sir James Galway)
Side L:
1. Elanor (feat. Sir James Galway)
2. Days Of The Ring (feat. Annie Lennox performing I"nto The West")
3. Bilbo's Song

Customers Also Like