Genre: Jazz
Label: Friday Music
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


The Mahavishnu Orchestra Birds of Fire 180g LP

The Mahavishnu Orchestra

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
180g Audiophile Vinyl Mastered by Friday Music's Joe Reagoso & Kevin Gray From Original Columbia Records Tapes & Pressed at RTI!

1972 was an incredible year for John McLaughlin (guitar), Jan Hammer (keyboards), Billy Cobham (drums), Jerry Goodman (violin) and Rick Laird (bass). As the Mahavishnu Orchestra, these five multi-talented musicians not only made up one of the first classic jazz/rock fusion outfits, but they also delivered a masterpiece, Birds Of Fire, one of the more successful albums of that year, catapulting them into the upper rungs of the album charts.

A true audiophile dream album come true, Birds Of Fire culminates the collective geniuses of these five players led by the haunting guitar licks of John McLaughlin into territories rarely heard and not seen since. Kicking things off with the mesmerizing title track Birds Of Fire, followed by McLaughlin’s tribute to Miles Davis with Miles Beyond, the listener soon becomes intrigued with the stunning and powerful musical collaborations of this superstar quintet. There hasn’t been anything like this since!

The new decade comes with an incredible gift to the serious audiophile and jazz/rock fusion collector as Friday Music is very proud to announce the 180 Gram Audiophile Vinyl release of Birds Of Fire by The Mahavishnu Orchestra. Mastered impeccably from the original Columbia Records tapes by Joe Reagoso/Friday Music and Kevin Gray at AcousTech, and pressed painstakingly by RTI. This album sound as exciting as it did years ago, as it transcends generations of music lovers with our latest revisit to this limited edition masterpiece. Peace!

• Limited Edition
• 180g Audiophile Vinyl
• Mastered at from Original Columbia Records Tapes
• Mastered by Friday Music's Joe Reagoso and Kevin Gray of AcousTech
• Pressed at RTI

The Mahavishnu Orchestra
John McLaughlin, guitar
Rick Laird, bass
Billy Cobham, percussion
Jerry Goodman, violin
Jan Hammer, keyboards

1. Birds of Fire
2. Miles Beyond
3. Celestial Terrestrial Commuters
4. Sapphire Bullets of Pure Love
5. Thousand Island Park
6. Hope
7. One Word
8. Sanctuary
9. Open Country Joy
10. Resolution

Customers Also Like