Genre: Jazz
Label: Venus


The Marion Brown Quintet Offering Single-Layer Stereo Japanese Import SACD

The Marion Brown Quintet

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
This Single-Layer SACD can only be played on a Super Audio CD Player!

Free-Jazz Saxophonist on SACD!

Marion Brown was an American jazz alto saxophonist and ethnomusicologist. He is most well known as a member of the 1960s avant-garde jazz scene in New York City, playing alongside musicians such as John Coltrane, Archie Shepp, and John Tchicai. He performed on Coltrane's landmark 1965 album Ascension.

On this 1992 session for Venus, Brown leads a quintet including Tom McClung (piano), Jay Messer (guitar), Mike Marcus (bass) and Chris Dailey (drums) on original numbers plus tracks by Charles Mingus, Randy Weston and John Coltrane.

• Super Audio CD
• SACD Stereo SACD Layer
• This Single-Layer SACD can only be played on a Super Audio CD Player! It will NOT play on conventional CD Players!
• Made in Japan

Marion Brown, alto sax
Tom McClung, piano
Jay Messer, guitar
Mike Marcus, bass
Chris Dailey, drums

1. Terra
2. Self Portrait In Three Colors
3. Ode To Coltrane
4. Sly Entrance
5. Golden Lady In The Graham Cracker Window
6. Berkshire Blues
7. After The Rain

Recorded at Sear Sound Studio in New York on October 7th, 1992

Customers Also Like