The Miles Davis Quintet Steamin' With The Miles Davis Quintet Numbered Limited Edition 200g LP (Mono)

The Miles Davis Quintet

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Out Of Print! Only 1 copy available!
Serial #923!

This item not eligible for any further discount offers!

Numbered, Limited Edition 200 Gram LP!
Only the 1st 1,000 Copies are Numbered!
Mastered by Kevin Gray & Cut from the Original Mono 100% Analog Master Tapes!
Pressed at Quality Record Pressings!

Part of the ultimate audiophile Prestige mono reissues from Analogue Productions - 25 of the most collectible, rarest, most audiophile-sounding Rudy Van Gelder recordings ever made. All mastered from the original analog master tapes by mastering maestro Kevin Gray. 200-gram LPs pressed at state-of -the-art plant Quality Record Pressings and plated by Gary Salstrom. Deep groove label pressings, tip-on jackets on thick cardboard stock.

All of the stylistic elements that made Miles Davis' 1956 quintet one of the immortal bands in jazz history are on display in this collection. "Surrey with the Fringe On Top" and "Diane" are medium-tempo standards that highlight the contrast between the leader's Harmon-muted horn, the explorations of John Coltrane's tenor sax and Red Garland's sparkling piano. "Salt Peanuts" and "Well, You Needn't", each a modern jazz classic, allow for intense swinging over the beat of Paul Chambers' bass and Philly Joe Jones' drums. And "Something I Dreamed Last Night" and "When I Fall In Love" give us vulnerable, visceral ballad playing by Davis that remains unsurpassed.

The end results are consistently astonishing. At the center of Steamin', as with most outings by this band, are the group improvisations which consist of solo upon solo of arguably the sweetest and otherwise most swinging interactions known to have existed between musicians...Although there is no original material on Steamin', it may best represent the ability of the Miles Davis quintet to take standards and rebuild them to suit their qualifications.
-Lindsay Planer, AllMusic


  • 200g Vinyl LP
  • Numbered, Limited Edition, Less Than 1000 Records per stamper, released in limited quantities
  • Only the 1st 1,000 Copies are Numbered
  • The Original 100% Analog Master Tapes were used working with only the Best Mastering Studios
  • Mastered by Kevin Gray & Plated by Gary Salstrom
  • Plated and Pressed at Quality Record Pressings on Virgin Vinyl
  • Meticulous Test Pressing Evaluation and Quality Control
  • Deluxe Packaging using the highest quality jackets and rice paper inner sleeves
  • Officially Licensed & Authorized for release by the Record Label
  • Mono


Miles Davis trumpet
John Coltrane tenor saxophone
Red Garland piano
Paul Chambers bass
"Philly" Joe Jones drums


Side A:

  1. Surrey With The Fringe On Top
  2. Salt Peanuts
  3. Something I Dreamed Last Night

Side B:

  1. Diane
  2. Well You Needn't
  3. When I Fall In Love

Recorded in Hackensack, NJ; May 11, 1956.
("Well You Needn't" recorded October 26, 1956)

Customers Also Like