Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Friday Music
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


The Moody Blues Days Of Future Passed 180g LP

The Moody Blues

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
180g Audiophile Vinyl Mastered by Friday Music's Joe Reagoso With Kevin Gray From Original Deram Records Tapes!

There aren’t too many albums like Days Of Future Passed, and then again, there aren’t too many bands with the iconic power and legacy of The Moody Blues. Initially a British pop/rock outfit scoring instant success in 1964 with Go Now, the band re-grouped in 1967 and let's just say Days Of Future Passed changed not only the band's fortunes, but also the way many of us would go on to listen to music forever.

With the addition of new bassist John Lodge and a tip from friend Eric Burdon Thomas, Graeme Edge and Mike Pinder soon moved the five guys to the outskirts seriously sat down and systematically wrote and devised the beginnings of not only their direction, but the rudiments of Days Of Future Passed.

Written to be a stage show about the day in the life of a person, The Moody Blues artistically and creatively wrote the thematic songs and worked them into concert form months before they were even signed to a label. While playing the songs out live in the nightclubs, they built a zest for the new songs and knew that they had something special which would only lead them down paths never in their wildest dreams.

Newly signed to Deram Records, the parent company Decca in the U.K. was looking for their quintet to record alongside an orchestra to create an audio demonstration album for the Deram label sales reps to use at retail shops. They initially thought Dvorak’s New World Symphony would be recorded and asked the band to add their rock sound to the classic work. The band told them yes but they needed five days in the studio to work out parts, and when they came back to the label heads with the psychedelic rock and symphonic classic Days Of Future Passed and not the symphony they hired them for, it began what we could say the birth of progressive rock.

The Moody Blues Days Of Future Passed was an artistic and crowning achievement for the ages. Culled from it were two hit singles with Tuesday Afternoon and the monumental Nights In White Satin, which not only charted in 1967 but then again in 1972 when the album and the single reached the top of the charts, thanks to the endless touring, an incredible string of classic rock smash albums, and the strength of the material from a 1967 masterwork which will forever last in the journals of rock and popular music.

Friday Music proudly announces The Moody Blues 180 Gram Audiophile Vinyl Series with their first installment of the mind blowing classic Days Of Future Passed. Mastered by Joe Reagoso from the original Deram Records tapes with Kevin Gray, this limited edition classic should be a much welcomed and important addition to your collection.

As an added treat to celebrate the 45th Anniversary Edition of this legendary Moody Blues album, the artwork will be presented in a first time gatefold cover making this a feast for the ears as well as for the eyes.

So let’s celebrate together the 45th Anniversary of the legendary Moody Blues masterpiece Days Of Future Passed. First time 180 Gram Audiophile Vinyl with a stunning gatefold cover...from your friends at Friday Music...Breathe Deep The Gathering Gloom!

• Limited Edition
• 180g Audiophile Vinyl
• Mastered from Original Deram Records Tapes
• Mastered by Joe Reagoso with Kevin Gray

1. The Day Begins
2. Dawn: Dawn Is A Feeling
3. The Morning: Another Morning
4. Lunch Break: Peak Hour
5. The Afternoon: Forever Afternoon (Tuesday?) a/k/a Tuesday Afternoon
6. Evening; The Sun Set: Twilight Time
7. The Night: Nights In White Satin

Customers Also Like