The Now Sound of Nashville: Psychedelic Gestures In The Country Music Experience (1966-1973) LP

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Limited Edition Vinyl LP!
2022 Remasters Direct from the First-Generation Analogue Master Tapes!
Strictly Limited to 500 Copies!

From the people who brought you Hillbillies In Hell…

Sitars, Fuzz Guitars and LSD sugar cubes…a Lysergic collection of Forgotten Nashville.
Hayseed Moog Hoedowns, Psyche Teen Meltdowns and Wild Weed Compounds.
All cut on Music Row by serious Nashville players in comfortable suits.

Eight Miles Higher than a Haystack – you'll witness melting, Dali-esque cakes, Apocalyptic Flower Power driven by banjos and fiddles, Floating Bongo Lullabies and Crazed Nashville Knock-Off Ersatz Exploitations.

Something was in the water…and Music City USA record executives were happy to drink it. Gongs crashed, mandolins soared and for a short time Nashville studios cranked out Arresting Angst-Ridden Backwoods Anthems, Reverberant Redneck Reincarnation Revelations and Acid-Laced Hillbilly Protest Folk.

Some velvet morning…a long, long ago – Country Music met the Long-Haired Wastrels by the river and birthed these 16 Transcendent Hillbilly Nuggets.

Years in the making – The Now Sound of Nashville turns on, tunes in and drops out to that brief Ergot Reign when Pedal Steel met Psyche Out and the Hayseeds went Hallucinogenic.

All for your therapeutic listening pleasure…


  • Limited Edition - Only 500 Copies
  • Vinyl LP
  • Full Dynamic Range 2022 Remasters Direct from the First-Generation Analogue Master Tapes by Alvin Lucia at The Iron Mountain Analogue Research Facility
  • Deluxe Gatefold with OBI
  • Exclusive Scholarly Liner Notes by Alvin Lucia


Side A:

  1. Gil Trythall - Folsom Prison Blues
  2. Kenny Rogers & The First Edition - Just Dropped In (To See What Condition My Condition Was In)
  3. Willie Nelson - It Will Come to Pass
  4. Rex Allen Jr. - I Back Up
  5. Waylon Jennings and The Kimberlys - MacArthur Park
  6. Glen Patterson - Unwanted Babies
  7. Henson Cargill - This Generation Shall Not Pass
  8. Ray 'Wong' Riley - Happy Valley CIA

Side B:

  1. Henson Cargill - What's My Name?
  2. Tom T. Hall - One Hundred Children
  3. Porter Wagoner - George Leroy Chickashea
  4. Roy Acuff Jr. - (Somebody's Warping Your Mind) I Wish It Were Me
  5. Duane & Miriam Eddy - Guitar on My Mind
  6. Johnny Darrell - Trouble Maker
  7. Roy Junior - Victim of Circumstances
  8. Pete Drake - Lay Lady Lay

Customers Also Like