Genre: R&B
Label: Razor & Tie
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


The O'Jays Back Stabbers 180g LP

The O'Jays

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
180g Vinyl LP With Lacquer Cutting by Kevin Gray!
Limited Edition - 700 Copies!

Deemed by many the pinnacle of the Philly Sound as perfected by legendary producers Kenneth Gamble and Leon Huff, 1972’s Back Stabbers scored no less than two Top Five Pop and three Top Five R&B smashes with the songs "Love Train," "Time to Get Down," and the title tune (plus another Top 20 R&B hit with "992 Arguments"). But it’s more than the hits that make this album a soul classic; honed by a decade of woodshedding, the vocal arrangements of O’Jays Eddie Levert, William Powell and Walter Williams are simply sublime, and, when married to Gamble & Huff’s polished backing tracks, they render such album tracks as "(They Call Me) Mr. Lucky" and "Who Am I" every bit as potent as the better-known songs. In short, Back Stabbers is a masterpiece through and through, one that brought both the O’Jays and Gamble and Huff to national attention, but it’s never been reissued on vinyl in the "modern" era.

With lacquer cutting by Kevin Gray, Real Gone Music’s limited (to 700 copies)180-gram black vinyl edition just might sound better than the original pressing, and includes the original artwork.

• Limited Edition - 700 Copies
• 180g Vinyl
• Lacquers Cut by Kevin Gray
• Original artwork

Side A:

1. When the World's At Peace
2. Back Stabbers
3. Who Am I
4. (They Call Me) Mr. Lucky
5. Time To Get Down

Side B:
1. 992 Arguments
2. Listen to The Clock on The Wall
3. Shiftless, Shady, Jealous Kind of People
4. Sunshine
5. Love Train

Customers Also Like