The Pat Metheny Group Travels Japanese Import SHM-2SACD

The Pat Metheny Group

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Single-Layer Stereo Japanese Import SHM-2SACD!

This Single-Layer SHM-SACD can only be played on a Super Audio CD Player!

The Pat Metheny Group's first live album was released in 1983, and won the Grammy Award for Best Jazz Fusion Performance. Consisting of live material recorded in July, October and November 1982 in Philadelphia, Dallas, Sacramento, Hartford and Nacogdoches (Texas), the album's Group included Pat Metheny, Lyle Mays, Steve Rodby, Dan Gottlieb and guest Nana Vasconcelos.

SHM-SACD (Super High Material SACD) is the ultimate Super Audio CD that utilizes the materials and technologies that were developed for the SHM-CD to further enhance the audio-resolution. These discs are made with polycarbonate developed for the screen of the liquid crystal display. As it has a higher transparency, players can read the signal more faithfully. Also, it excels in fluidity, which enables you to cast a more accurate pit. What works wonders for a low resolution format such as CD should offer even greater sonic improvements in a real high resolution format such as SACD.

Percussionist Naná Vasconcelos is still listed as a 'special guest,' but ever since Wichita Falls, he had not only been a part of the group, he was the transforming element in the Metheny 'sound,' adding his various shakers, effects and ethereal vocals. Sidekick Lyle Mays gets deeper into floating, glistening synthesizer textures, but he is still able to take formidable and touching solos on acoustic grand piano. Still experimenting with new hardware, Metheny's work on a detuned guitar synthesizer gives the live 'As Falls Wichita, So Falls Wichita Falls' an exotic Balinese-like sound. Other highlights are the hard Brazilian grooves on 'Straight On Red' and 'Song for Bilbao,' as well as the trademark Metheny glide of 'Are You Going With Me?' - and the brief title track has a winning, guileless simplicity much like that of Keith Jarrett in a prayerful mood. If you liked the popular Offramp, you'll fall for Travels, too...
-Richard S. Ginell, AllMusic


  • 2 Disc Set
  • Super High Material Super Audio CD
  • SHM-SACD Stereo SACD Layer
  • Single-Layer Stereo SHM-SACD, to secure enough reflectance and not to compress DSD file
  • Label of the disc is printed with a special green ink called 'Onsho Shiyou', which minimizes diffuse reflection
  • Carefully selected master audio is used, from existing DSD files to newly converted from analog tapes
  • This Single-Layer SHM-SACD can only be played on a Super Audio CD Player! It will NOT play on conventional CD Players!
  • Made in Japan


Pat Metheny guitars, guitar synthesizer
Lyle Mays piano, synthesizers, organ, autoharp, synclavier
Steve Rodby acoustic & electric bass, bass synthesizer
Dan Gottlieb drums
Nana Vasconcelos percussion, vocals, berimbau


Disc 1

  1. Are You Going With Me?
  2. The Fields, The Sky
  3. Goodbye
  4. Phase Dance
  5. Straight On Red
  6. Farmer's Trust

Disc 2

  1. Extradition
  2. Goin' Ahead / As Falls Wichita, So Falls Wichita Falls
  3. Travels
  4. Song For Bilbao
  5. San Lorenzo

Customers Also Like