Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Rhino
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


The Pogues Rum, Sodomy & The Lash 180g LP


Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
180g Vinyl Reissue of 1985 Sophomore Album! Cut from Original Flat Analog Masters!

In his opening essay for the reissue of The Pogues’ acclaimed 1984 debut album RED ROSES FOR ME, filmmaker Jim Jarmusch calls them, “definitely one of the most soulful rock bands Britain has ever produced,” adding, “But The Pogues aren’t just a punk band, or a soul group, or an “Irish” band rooted in a folk tradition. They’re all those things and a hell of a lot more.” Formed in 1982 in King’s Cross in north London, they started out called Pogue Mahone, an anglification of a Gaelic phrase meaning “kiss my arse.”

Fronted by the poetic spirit and raging, often besotted stage antics of lead singer-songwriter Shane MacGowan, the band made unforgettable music that terms such as “celtic punk” or “trad-fusion” or “progressive folk” indeed only begin to describe. Rhino explores their extraordinary body of work with 180g Vinyl versions of their five original albums before MacGowan's departure.

1985’s Rum, Sodomy & The Lash, the Pogues' brilliant second LP, was produced by Elvis Costello, who also brought The Pogues on tour and later married the band’s Cait O’Riordan. Highlights include “The Sick Bed Of Cuchulainn,” “I’m A Man You Don’t Meet Every Day” (sung by Cait), their definitive take on “The Band Played Waltzing Matilda,” and the stunning “A Pair Of Brown Eyes,” presenting MacGowan’s lyrics and vocals in all their “dilapidated glory” (Costello’s phrasing).

"...this album captures all the sweat, fire, and angry joy that was lost in the thin, disembodied recording of the band's debut, and the Pogues sound stronger and tighter without losing a bit of their edge in the process." -Mark Deming,

• 180g Vinyl
• Cut from Original Flat Masters

Side One:

1. The Sick Bed of Cuchulainn
2. The Old Main Drag
3. Wild Cats of Kilkenny
4. I'm A Man You Don't Meet Every Day
5. A Pair of Brown Eyes
6. Sally MacLennane
Side Two:
1. Dirty Old Town
2. Jesse James
3. Navigator
4. Billy's Bones
5. The Gentleman Soldier
6. And the Band Played Waltzing Matilda

Customers Also Like