Genre: Pop Rock
Label: WB Rhino
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


The Pogues Rum, Sodomy & The Lash 180g LP Rhino

The Pogues

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Formed in 1982 in King's Cross in North London, The Pogues started out calling themselves Pogue Mahone, an anglification of a Gaelic phrase meaning "kiss my arse". Fronted by the poetic spirit and raging, often besotted stage antics of lead singer-songwriter Shane MacGowan, the band made unforgettable music that terms such as "Celtic punk" or "trad-fusion" or "progressive-folk" indeed only begin to describe.

Their brilliant second LP was produced by Elvis Costello, who also brought the Pogues on tour and later married the band's Cait O'Riordan.

Highlights include "The Sick Bed of Cuchulainn", "I'm a Man You Don't Meet Every Day", their definitive take on "The Band Played Waltzing Matilda", and the stunning "A Pair of Brown Eyes", presenting MacGowan's lyrics and vocals in all their "dilapidated glory" (Costellos' phrasing).

High Quality 180g Remastered Vinyl  from Warner Brothers! Just look for the Rhino Label!!!

"With a voice like an ashtray, Shane MacGowan led this fabulous disaster of an Irish folk-punk band. Produced by Elvis Costello (who married bassist Cait O'Riordan), Rum careens between the maudlin "A Pair of Brown Eyes" and such explosive numbers as "The Sick Bed of Cuchulainn." -

• 180g Vinyl
• All original packaging

1. The Sick Bed Of Cuchulainn
2. The Old Main Drag
3. Wild Cats Of Kilkenny
4. I'm A Man You Don't Meet Every Day
5. A Pair Of Brown Eyes
6. Sally MacLennane
7. Dirty Old Town
8. Jesse James
9. Navigator
10. Billy's Bones
11. The Gentleman Soldier
12. And The Band Played Waltzing Matilda

Customers Also Like